Gluten-Free · Lamb · Weeknight Mains

Rosemary and Lamb Meatballs (GF)

_DSC0311

I have been rather sneaky in that I bought another cookbook, for the sole purpose of cooking midweek mains for work, etc, and managed to get it into the house before anyone was the wiser. I was in Aldi with Pete, shopping for dinner ingredients, when I saw a stack of Donna Hay cookbooks all for about half the price I’m used to seeing them in bookstores! I couldn’t help but go over and look, especially when I saw one titled No Time To Cook. There was another book aimed at weeknight dinners, but it seemed a lot more time consuming than No Time To Cook. So I added this cookbook to the groceries and took it home.

The very first recipe I decided to do was one which I have often had trouble with in the past: Meatballs. I am not a fan of meatballs. Most of the ones I’ve encountered have been dry or strangely flavoured. Yuck. However, these meatballs appealed to me, especially after I cut out the mint, as I am not at all a big fan of meat and mint together. I also halved the recipe as I didn’t see it being that cost effective to get a whole kilo of lamb mince when I didn’t have enough room in the freezer for the leftovers, and no one else would be eating it but me. It turned out to be the right thing to do in terms of portion sizes as well because even halved this recipe made enough for three portions for work!

Adapted from Donna Hay’s No Time to Cook

Mint & Rosemary Lamb Meatballs

Serves: 3, Prep: 15 -20 mins, Cook: 20-25 mins

Ingredients

  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 500g lamb mince
  • 1/2 tbsp dried rosemary
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 100g feta, crumbled
  • Olive oil
  • 1 cup/250ml beef stock (I used massel’s g/f beefstock)
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • At least 680g tomato passata
  • Salt and pepper
  • A generous sprinkling of oregano flakes

Method

  1. Combine mince, garlic, rosemary, mustard, honey and feta in a bowl and mix together with your hands. (Make sure to wear gloves if you don’t like touching raw meat)
  2. Roll walnut sized lumps of the mix into balls, and set aside.
  3. Heat the olive oil in a non-stick saucepan. You really do want non-stick for this as these meatballs are somewhat delicate, and if they stick they will start to fall apart.
  4. Brown half of the meatballs and gently remove, and then brown the other half.
  5. Pop all the meatballs in a saucepan that can hold up three or more cups of liquid, and add the stock, passata, tomato paste, oregano, salt and pepper and stir gently.
  6. Bring the mix up to the boil and then reduce to a simmer for up to 15 mins, or until the meatballs are cooked through.
  7. According to the book this mix can also be frozen for up to 3 months, but I prefer to serve mine hot with some gluten free pasta!
10 thoughts on “Rosemary and Lamb Meatballs (GF)

  1. Your Aldi comment made me chuckle – because I always go in well intended with just buying my organic food staples – but I always come out with some unplanned gadget or something else random! Great meatballs too….

    Like

Leave a Reply

