Chicken · Curries · Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Chicken Kapitan Curry (G/F, D/F)

_DSC0228

It’s been quite a while since I’ve put a main recipe for Fiesta Friday – if at all, as to be honest I haven’t had the time to test out new recipes for dinners or find one that I felt was worth sharing in some time. Getting used to a new workplace, and a new schedule, can be like that I think. However, I am now making an effort to find new recipes, and to take the time to cook a decent dinner for all of us at least at the beginning of the week, and to attempt to get said dinner onto this blog!

I chose this recipe for Chicken Kapitan Curry, as I am a bit of a curry fiend at the moment, and given the chance all I would cook is curry. Although I do have plans to attempt a slow cooker recipe a friend served me, and gave me the recipe for, some time ago. That will be a weekend project. But this dish is certainly fit for a weekday! I cheated and made it even simpler through using a barbecue chicken from the shops that I picked for the meat, but believe me this recipe is good! It’s very forgiving of little changes here and there, and so I will be posting up the original recipe with the edits I made in brackets.

Also I am making a bit more effort with exercise at the moment, and I am loving it. I love taking walks with Pete when I visit him, or vice versa, and am liking taking up the lounge-room with aerobic exercises as well. So it’s a good thing I always make enough food for there to be leftovers, because I seem to be working up much more of an appetite lately…

Happy FF!

Michelle Noerianto’s

Chicken Kapitan Curry

Serves: 6-8, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 20 mins

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup/35g shredded coconut, toasted (I only had dessicated on hand and used that)
  • 3 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
  • 3 French shallots, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 2cm-piece fresh ginger, peeled and thinly sliced (I used minced ginger instead)
  • 1 tbsp ground coriander
  • 1 tbsp dried chilli flakes (I used chilli paste as I had no flakes)
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp ground turmeric
  • 2 cardamom pods
  • 1 tbsp chilled water
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 800g chicken thigh fillets, cut into 4cm pieces (I used the meat from one bbq chook)
  • 400ml can coconut cream (I doubled this, simply because we had more meat than 800g)
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 2 whole star anise
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp tamarind puree
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • (I also tossed in some frozen veggies)
  • White rice, to serve

Method

  1. Heat a wok or saucepan over medium heat. Toast the coconut for 2-3 minutes or until golden. Transfer to a bowl, reserving 1 tablespoon.

  2. Blend the garlic, shallot, ginger, coriander, chilli flakes, cumin, nutmeg, turmeric, cardamom and water in a blender until a smooth paste forms. It will smell spice-alicious!
  3. Heat the oil in the wok or saucepan over medium heat. Add the spice mixture and fry for 2 minutes or until aromatic.
  4. Add the chicken and fry for 2 minutes or until combined with the spice paste. Add the coconut cream, cinnamon, star anise and salt. Reduce heat to low and simmer, stirring occasionally, for 10 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through.
  5. Add the tamarind puree, sugar and coconut and stir until combined. Transfer to a serving bowl.
  6. Sprinkle with reserved coconut and serve with rice.
27 thoughts on “Chicken Kapitan Curry (G/F, D/F)

  1. Ok, I made this recipe the other night and it was FANTASTIC! It’s funny, we used to go to a Tgai restaurant here in Chicago years ago and would order an amazing chicken dish served over slightly-fried thick rice noodles. We were so sad when it closed down over six years ago, specifically because we were addicted to that chicken dish. And it was this dish!! As soon as we took a bite we both remembered, even though the reataurant closed over six years ago now. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!! Yum! I am actually making aversion without chilis as I write this (as my son will be eating it too). We’ll see if it’s any good not spicy. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It was great! My little guy ate it all up and my husband and I didn’t miss the spice. I ended up doubling the tamarind to add some more zip to replace the spice. Will definitely be making this again and again. 🙂

        Like

  2. Love the curry. Yes, there are so many ways one could make chicken curry! I posted a super easy one this particular weekend too. Sorry for the late response. Like you, work and kids keep me on my toes!

    Like

  3. Isn’t is so unfair that when you are trying to be healthy and exercise more- you are more hungry!?!? :/ Anyway- your curry looks wonderful- I am in a bit of a curry fiend as well right now as well!! Great shortcut adding pre-cooked chicken- I have used many rotisserie chickens the same way. Thank you for bringing it to Fiesta Friday- hope you are enjoying the party! 🙂 Josette

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! 🙂 And coconut cream and coconut milk are two separate products, although very similar. Coconut cream is essentially a thicker and fattier coconut milk, and I much prefer it in curries because of it’s thickness. But in a pinch coconut milk will do if you can’t get a hold of coconut cream. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I couldn’t resist checking out this recipe, having posted a great one for Indian butter chicken this week. Your curry looks amazing – I love the mix of spices and coconut. It’s on my to-make list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

