Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Misc. Desserts

Lime, Coconut and Pistachio Friands (GF, DF)

pistachio friand

I decided to give another friand recipe a go for this week’s post, as unfortunately I didn’t have the time to experiment with drinks for the first part of the Fiesta Friday Anniversary.

I tend to have a habit of picking friand recipes that, despite extensive experimentation, don’t often tick all the boxes for flavour, texture and still-good-the-day-after. As I love friands, and am really picky and so set the bar quite high for myself. So I decided to turn to the Gluten Free Dessert Bible, as I had noticed that it did in fact have a good looking friand recipe, for which I had all the ingredients already in the cupboard. However, it seems to me that I will also need to start keeping a stock of walnuts and pecans in the pantry for baking purposes, as I couldn’t help but notice that a lot of the recipes I have bookmarked to do in future posts make use of those two delicious nuts. And I do like to be prepared in-case the baking urge suddenly takes me!

These friands originally used unsalted butter. However, as I happened to have salt reduced, kosher nuttelex in the fridge – it being one of the brand’s many versions, but also the only one I can find that’s salt reduced and has the good for baking stamp – I decided to use that instead so that this recipe would also be dairy free! It worked like a charm! Now, while there are quite a few little steps to this recipe, one thing I will add is that you don’t strictly need the lime syrup at the end. If you’re not a huge sweet tooth you can get away by having these friands dusted with icing sugar or not. I liked mine without any sort of add on, and a hot cup of tea! But for that extra touch of decadence I would add the syrup, and serve them perhaps with some whipped coconut cream, or dollop cream if you don’t mind the dairy!

Also I would like to shout out to the wonderful Emma and the wonderful Andrew! My friend Emma gave me a set of stackable cake stands for christmas, one of which I used here, and for a christmas awhile back it was Andrew who got me the friand pan. So thanks to both of you! You two are such thoughtful friends! And a wonderful FF to all the rest!

Adapted from The Gluten Free Dessert Bible’s

Lime, Coconut and Pistachio Friands

Makes: 10, Prep: 25-30 mins, Cook: 20-25 mins (or a bit more if you like them drier)

Ingredients

  • 180g nuttelex (I used the kosher, salt reduced one, or 180g unsalted butter), melted and cooled to room temp.
  • 100g ground pistachios
  • 50g pistachios, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup/75g gluten-free plain flour
  • 1 cup/160g icing sugar
  • 5 egg whites
  • Zest of 1 lime
  • 30g dessicated coconut

Syrup Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup/55g caster sugar
  • 1 tbsp/20ml lime juice
  • 1.5 tbsp/30ml water

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 190C, or 170C for a fan-forced oven.
  2. Grease ten holes in the friand pan.
  3. Sift the flour and icing sugar into a bowl, and then whisk in the dessicated coconut, lime zest and ground pistachios.
  4. Beat the egg whites until frothy, and then gently fold them into the flour mixture until just combined.
  5. By this stage the nuttelex should be room temperature, so you can fold it into the egg and flour mix now.
  6. Spoon or pour the mix into the ten holes. You don’t need to overfill them, believe me, as the mix will rise while baking.
  7. Sprinkle the chopped pistachios on top of each, and bake for 20-25 mins, or until a skewer inserted into their centres comes out clean.
  8. Now’s the time to prepare the syrup, as you should cool the friands in the tin for about five or so minutes.
  9. So, combine the caster sugar, lime juice and water in a small saucepan over medium heat and bring to the boil. Cook for 1-2 mins, or until the mix becomes syrupy. Set aside.
  10. Turn the friands out onto a wire rack, and spoon the warm syrup over the top of them and then leave them to cool completely.
  11. Serve.
9 thoughts on “Lime, Coconut and Pistachio Friands (GF, DF)

  1. These are new to me too. That’s what I love about these gatherings – that I always learn something. These look absolutely delicious and so pretty on that elegant dish.

    Like

Leave a Reply

