Cakes · Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Vegan

Maple and Pistachio Bundt Cake (GF, DF, Vegan)

maple and pistachio bundt cake

Vegan and Gluten-Free Baking is turning out to be a winner of a cookbook! I’m learning a lot of neat things about vegan baking, and I feel it’s helping me improve as a gluten-free baker as well. For one thing there are a lot of wonderful flavour combinations in this book that I didn’t expect. But this is one flavour combination I did see coming, and I rather like. Maple and pistachio work well together, but I hadn’t had them together for a long time. As I turned to the next recipe in this book to do, I spotted this, and thinking that it’s been awhile I knew I had to do it!

This cake is more like a teacake, let me add that disclaimer right now. It’s not very dense or overwhelming in terms of flavour. It’s more subtle, more the sort of thing I might serve warm with a bit of DF margarine and a cup of tea. But given that I had been to an engagement party recently, full to bursting with rich sweets, etc, I didn’t mind having something a little more mild or plain.

One thing I will praise is the texture of this mix. It is very soft and fluffy, and rose splendidly. In fact it rose so much I was worried it was going to explode right out of the bundt pan! But it held it’s shape well, and sunk a little once it had started to cool, giving it a nice flat underside which sat well on the cooling rack. But again, I caution leaving this cake in the tin too long as it could start to steam itself. I also caution against moving it too much while it’s hot. No matter how tempting it will be to put it onto a serving plate and try to start cutting it up right away! Bundt cakes are quite delicate when hot, and their shape means they’re not quite as stable as regular cakes. So let it cool on the cake rack as per the instructions.

So for a gentler, plainer sort of cake to be had when sweets shouldn’t be too sweet, etc, please have a slice of this! Happy FF!

Adapted from Vegan and Gluten-Free Baking’s

Maple and Pistachio Bundt Cake

Serves: 8, Prep: 20 mins, Cook: 30-35 mins

Ingredients

  • 300g GF Self-Raising Flour
  • 175g granulated sugar
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 100g shelled pistachio nuts (Or more, if you’re a big pistachio fan)
  • 300ml soy milk
  • 125ml vegetable oil
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup, plus extra for drizzling
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to 180C (160C fan-forced) and grease and lightly dust a 6-cup bundt pan.
  2. Put together the flour, sugar and baking powder.
  3. Chop the pistachio nuts, reserving one third for decoration later, and then toss the remaining chopped nuts through the flour mix.
  4. In another bowl add the soy milk, vegetable oil, maple syrup and vanilla.
  5. Add the wet mix to the dry and beat until combined. Then pour into the bundt pan and gently smooth the top.
  6. Bake the cake for 30-35 mins, or until golden brown and a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean. Some moist crumbs is all right, but liquid is not.
  7. Let the cake cool in the tin for ten minutes before tipping it out onto a wire rack to cool completely.
  8. Serve, drizzled with extra maple syrup and covered with a sprinkling of the set aside pistachios.
17 thoughts on “Maple and Pistachio Bundt Cake (GF, DF, Vegan)

  1. Lovely cake Nell – it always seems if maple syrup is an ingredient the recipe is going to be good. Then your addition of pistachios (favorite nut for the holidays) just adds another dimension. Thanks for bringing your cake to Fiesta Friday 🙂

    Like

  2. Happy FF to you, Nell! I guess it’s Friday already there. A few more hours for us 🙂 Maple and pistachios sound awesome together. I have pistachios in the freezer I’ve forgotten about! My MIL always sends me tons every year. Time to make a cake! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

