Cupcakes and Muffins · Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Vegan

Green Tea Cupcakes (GF, DF, Optional Vegan)

_DSC0021

I’m continuing to explore the recipes in this neat cookbook I picked up from Melbourne, Vegan and Gluten Free Baking. However, I had a minor kitchen disaster that meant I didn’t have enough ingredients left to make the original cake. So I instead flipped through the book to see what I did have ingredients for. I hit upon this neat recipe for green tea cupcakes and knew that was what I had to do!

I haven’t done a lot of baking with green tea. It’s not the sort of flavour I was used to seeing in baked goods. However, it’s becoming more and more popular, and given that there would be a green tea fan at the dinner I was going to, I knew it was a match made in heaven! I whipped up a batch of these and popped them in the oven. I hadn’t bet on how good a rise these would get. But that did mean these cakes developed nice little domes on top.

End result – soft cupcakes, warm and very fluffy! I was surprised at how good a result I got for so little effort, and the icing came together quite well as well. However the heat is proving to be an determined foe, and it tried it’s level best to ruin each spot of icing I piped onto the cupcakes. Some managed to survive because I rushed them to the fridge. Others were not so fortunate. But the consensus was still that these cupcakes were delicious, and that the pistachios on top were a must have! So far I am thrilled at how well this cookbook is working out for me, and I’m looking forward to sharing another treat I made for this dinner in the next post!

Happy FF!

Adapted from Vegan and Gluten Free Baking’s

Green Tea Cupcakes

Makes: 12 large, 24 small, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 20-25mins

 Ingredients

  • 2 eggs for non-vegan (or egg replacer equivalent to 2 eggs)
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 175g g/f self-raising flour
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 4 tsp matcha green tea powder
  • 125ml rapeseed or vegetable oil
  • 125ml rice milk

Icing Ingredients

  • 140g Nuttelex, or a similar butter/margerine replacement (Or 70g Nuttelex and 70g vegetable shortrning)
  • 2 tsp matcha green tea powder
  • 600g g/f icing sugar
  • Up to 4 tbsp rice milk
  • 25g pistachio nuts, finely chopped

Method

  1. Pre-heat oven to 180C (160C fan-forced) and line cupcake tins with patty pans. I have smaller than average cupcake tins, so I needed to use two. Standard cupcake tins are a bit bigger, and so you might only need one.
  2. Now either make up the egg replacer as per packet instructions and beat with a fork until it’s bubbly, about a minute or so, and then beat together with the sugar for another minute, or put the sugar and eggs together and beat until frothy.
  3. Sift the flour and baking powder into a large mixing bowl, then add the sugar and egg/egg replacer mix and stir in the green tea powder.
  4. Put the oil and rice milk into a jug and stir with a metal spoon. Pour this over the flour mix, and then mix throughly until there are no lumps.
  5. Divide the mixture evenly between the paper cases, filling no more than 3/4 full – as these will rise a lot while baking, and bake in the oven for up to 25 mins, or until a skewer inserted into the centre of the cupcakes comes out clean.
  6. Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely before icing.
  7. To make the icing, put the margarine, or margarine and vegetable shortening, green tea powder and icing sugar in a large bowl with just a little bit of the rice milk to get things going. Cream this mixture together, adding little bits more of the rice milk as needed, until the mixture has combined, and is stiff enough to pipe. You really do want to beat it a whole lot though, to make sure that icing sugar dissolves in properly. Then spoon the mixture into a piping bag and decorate the tops of each cupcake with a generous swirl of frosting and sprinkle with the pistachios.
18 thoughts on “Green Tea Cupcakes (GF, DF, Optional Vegan)

  1. I think I would love these! I have not done any baking with green tea but I do love its delicate flavor and could see how wonderful these could be! Also, pistachios on top? Definitely! 🙂

    Like

  2. They sound amazing. I’ve never cooked with green tea; I drink it every day and it’s a struggle 😉 But your cupcakes are really tempting and I bet the green tea goes down a whole lot easier in cake form!

    Like

  3. Wow! Green tea + pistachios + cupcakes sounds like an amazing flavour combination. I will have to give these a try.
    Meanwhile, heat being an issue is so hard to imagine right now in Midwestern United States, I’m jealous!!!

    Like

      1. That is really funny. I’ve been dreading the winter this year (because the polar vortex that hit us last year was so harsh), but the years I’ve spent in warm places I really have missed it. Change is good.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

