Gluten-Free · Reviews

Frankies at Forde, a Review

It was an absolutely stinking hot day. But having done all the house chores with mum, and having nothing else to do, boredom chased me out of the house to go on a bit of an op shop adventure. Sadly I didn’t find anything worth bringing home this time around, however, I did end up so starving hungry on the trip back that I had to stop in and eat somewhere or else I wouldn’t have been able to make it home!

I drive past Frankies at Forde a lot, and sometimes nip into the chemist and supermarket close by to it. But I had never had the chance to eat there until today. My first impression as I walked in was a good one. I was greeted right away at the door and handed a menu, and told I could order at the bar whenever I was ready. So I sat down to peruse the lunch menu. I was immediately delighted to see a vast range of their items could be made gluten-free on request, including burgers and pizzas! It was a small extra charge of $2 for the gluten-free option on the burgers, but the fact still remained that for once I could get a gluten-free burger when I was in a gluten-free burger mood, and the burgers came with chips!

I absolutely couldn’t go past their pulled pork burger with an appleslaw and cider reduction for $19, not including the g/f extra charge. I have never had appleslaw, but I am a huge fan of pulled pork. So I picked that one and went up to the counter to order. I did a bit of back and forth with the man at the bar to decide what I wanted to drink. I’m horrible when it comes to drinks, either I pick orange juice, or if I don’t get orange juice I don’t know what to do with myself. But the man at the bar knew their range quite well, and he was really helpful in selecting a drink. This is the first place I’ve been to in a long time that serves ginger beer, let alone ginger beer with a bit of lime! I was delighted when he asked whether I wanted a bit of lime in mine, and I answered yes!

20141123_125716

It was very refreshing, exactly the sort of thing I needed given the intense heat. Not too long after that I received my pulled pork burger and chips! It looked delicious. I happen to be a fan of places that serve their food on boards. I don’t know why, but something about it appeals to me. I especially love the sight of pizza served on a wooden board. But I digress! The burger was spot on. Half the time when I get gluten-free burgers the bread isn’t toasted and so gets soggy before I can even get halfway through. However this bread was perfectly toasted, and I have to admit it had a much better texture than most of the gluten-free breads I’ve been served in cafes before. Yum! The applesaw was a lovely mix of tangy and sweet, and tasted very crisp and fresh, and it worked beautifully with the pulled pork.

20141123_130307

The burger wasn’t at all too small either. There was a whole lot of pork tucked in-between those two pieces of bread, and much to my dismay I ended up having to leave two bites of burger behind because I couldn’t cram it in!

20141123_131117

Overall I was really impressed by my first visit. The service was good, and not too slow at all, and the prices were pretty standard for cafes – but not too exorbitant given the quality of the food I tasted today! I’m rather curious to go back again and give some of their other gluten-free options a go, and I think I’d like to try their breakfast and dinner menus as well. Besides, any place that has a ping-pong table gets a big thumbs up in my book!

Frankies at Forde

Email: info@frankiesatforde.com.au

PH: 0429 781 704

Unit 1/26 Francis Forde Boulevard, Forde, ACT

Hours (From what I could see on the internet…)
Monday: CLOSED

Tuesday – Wednesday: 8:00am-10:00pm

Thursday :8:00am-11:00pm

Friday – Saturday: 8:00am-12:00pm, 8:00am-12:00am

Sunday: 8:00am-8:00pm

2 thoughts on “Frankies at Forde, a Review

Leave a Reply

