Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Misc.

Shakshuka (g/f, optional d/f)

IMG_20141106_172623

It’s true that I don’t often post about main dishes. I tend to have more time around work and house chores and things to post about end of week bakes and sweet treats. But this doesn’t mean that I never cook mains. Although I will admit that I like baking more! So I thought that since this time I did manage to snap a somewhat decent picture of a weeknight main before it got eaten and packed up for work I thought that I would post about it here for FF!

Shakshuka is an Tunisian dish I was first introduced to at a good friend’s house a while ago now. It’s a spiced tomato sauce with cooked eggs that is – as I understand it, meant to be served with pita bread. But I have now also had it served with gluten free pasta and believe me it is delicious!

It’s not plain at all and it can be both filling and addictive. It was perfect for both dinner and work lunch the next day. Even though I slipped up and made it a little bit spicier than I intended to it was still absolutely delicious and I would recommend it to anyone looking for something cheap, quick and flavoursome for dinner or lunch!

Smitten Kitchen’s

Shakshuka

Serves: 3-4, Prep: 5-10 mins, Cook: 20-25mins

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 5 Anaheim chiles or 3 jalapenos, stemmed, seeded, and finely chopped (Chilli past can also be used)
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 5 cloves garlic, crushed then sliced (Chopped or minced garlic is also doable)
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • Up to 850g diced/crushed tomatoes
  • Salt, to taste
  • 6 eggs
  • 1/2 cup feta cheese, crumbled (Leave out like I did to make the recipe d/f)
  • 1 tablespoon chopped flat-leaf parsley (Optional)
  • up to 250g gluten-free pasta

Method

  1. Prepare the pasta as per packet instructions, drain and set aside. I did this while cooking the shakshuka to minimise on cooking time.
  2. Heat oil in a 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat. Add chiles and onions and cook, stirring occasionally, until soft and golden brown.
  3. Add garlic, cumin, and paprika, and cook, stirring frequently, until garlic is soft.
  4. Add diced/crushed tomatoes skillet along with 1/2 cup water (I pop the water into the tin to get all the remaining tomato juices), reduce heat to medium, and simmer, stirring occasionally, until thickened slightly, about 15 minutes. Season sauce with salt.
  5. Crack eggs over sauce so that eggs are evenly distributed across sauce’s surface. Cover skillet and cook until yolks are just set, about 5 minutes. U
  6. Using a spoon, baste the whites of the eggs with tomato mixture, being careful not to disturb the yolk. Sprinkle shakshuka with feta (leave out to make dairy free) and parsley and serve atop the pasta.
36 thoughts on “Shakshuka (g/f, optional d/f)

  1. Wow – I have never seen Shakshuka prepared this way – it looks fabulous! What a meal. We always had it as a side dish but this is the whole meal in one pan. Must try.

    Like

  2. This sounds like a great way to serve eggs. It relies on different spices but is similar to an Italian dish known as Eggs in Purgatory, “Uova in Purgatorio”. I’ll have to try it your way for a change of pace — and because I cannot refuse a new way to serve pasta. 🙂

    Like

  3. Yeah, what shape did you use, Nell? 😀 I’d like to serve it over pasta as well. It sounds delicious. Baking is more fun for me as well. Have a great weekend and happy FF! ❤

    Like

  4. I love shakshuka, but have never tried it with pasta! Sounds delicious! Neither anaheims nor jalapenos are available here, so I usually use bell peppers and whatever hottish peppers are available. Love your addition of feta cheese too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

