Cakes · Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Food With Friends · Gluten-Free

Chocolate Olive Oil Bundt Cake (g/f, d/f)

IMG_8278

So. Last week for FF I posted about a mocha cake I made for a friend. As I mentioned in that post I made a second cake, as I wasn’t so sure whether the coffee flavoured cream wold suit the tastebuds of the other dinner guests. So I hunted around and I stumbled across this recipe for a Chocolate Olive Oil Bundt Cake. All of the photos for which looked superb, and the recipe for which would give me a chance to test out using brown rice flour some more, to see what all the fuss around brown rice flour is all about.

I found this recipe simple to put together, but I added a few extra tablespoons of almond meal because the mix was too thin for me. You could use less, or add nothing extra at all. It’s all up to what people prefer their mixes to be in terms of texture. Besides, I suspect a part of the moisture excess might have been due to the inconsistent sizes of our eggs, which we bought from a friend, and the fact that the original author wasn’t specific about what size to use. We tend to have larger than average sized eggs at our house.

I also tossed in some leftover df chocolate chips, in sore need of using, and popped it all into the oven! It cooked beautifully, and was delicious when dusted with a bit of icing sugar. The chocolate flavour was rather strong, and I could imagine this one going well with some df whipped cream! A lovely recipe for FF!

Adapted from Dolly and Oatmeal’s

CHOCOLATE OLIVE OIL BUNDT W/ SALTED MAPLE ALMONDS (GLUTEN + DAIRY FREE)

Serves: up to 6, Prep: 20-25 mins, Cook: 40-45 mins

Cake Ingredients

  • 1 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp almond flour (I used an extra few tbsp on top of this)
  • 2 tbsp arrowroot powder (I used tapioca starch)
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder + more for coating pan
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp fine grain sea salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup hot water
  • Nuttelex/coconut oil for greasing

Chocolate Ganache

  • 2 oz dark chocolate (d/f, and I think it’s about 170g)
  • 5 oz full-fat coconut milk (I think it’s about 150ml)
  • tiny pinch of salt

Salted Maple Almonds (Original recipe here.)

  • 1/4 cup, roughly chopped

OR: Decorate with sifted icing sugar

Method

  1. preheat oven to 180C (160C fan-forced) and grease an 6-cup bundt pan with coconut oil/nuttelex and dust with cocoa powder.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients, sans sugar.
  3. in another large bowl, beat the eggs with the sugar until thoroughly combined – about 1 minute.  Add the vanilla and oil, and then add the hot water while whisking.
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and whisk until combined.  Carefully pour the batter into the prepared bundt pan; transfer to oven and bake for 40-45 minutes, rotating halfway through and until a skewer inserted comes out clean
  5. Set the pan on a cooling rack to cool completely before gently attempting to invert the cake onto a cooling rack to cool outside the tin. You might need to let it rest for quite a while, but trust me, this makes removing bundt cakes much easier.
  6. Then make the Ganache: in a small saucepan, heat the coconut milk until boiling, remove from heat and add the chocolate; let it rest for about 5 minutes, add the salt and stir to combine.
  7. Drizzle chocolate evenly over the top of the cake, then top with salted maple almonds.
  8. Best eaten on the day of baking, but you can cover the cake and store at room temperature in an airtight container for about 3 days.
  9. If not making the ganache sprinkle the top of the completely cooled cake with icing sugar!
38 thoughts on “Chocolate Olive Oil Bundt Cake (g/f, d/f)

  1. I already made cakes, muffins etc with olive oil but you need a fruity one that doesn’t taste too much otherwise it can really be overpowering sometimes! Your chocolate oil cake looks just stunning! xxx

    Like

  2. Welcome to the party Nell, love your cake. I recently bought some almond meal flour and wanted to experiment with it. Do you think it would work instead of the brown rice flour? I like that it is g/f and d/f. Thanks for bringing such a great addition to our party. Enjoy your weekend.

    Like

    1. Thanks! And I think it could work, but it might require some experimentation, and perhaps the addition of a bit of tapioca starch, etc. As almond meal cakes are quite heavy, and I’m not entirely certain the cake would hold it’s shape without a little help. But that could be something to test. Have a lovely weekend yourself. 🙂

      Like

  3. Your ability to adapt recipes to your dietary needs always amaze me, Nell. This cake sounds delicious and looks like perfection. I’ve been making my fair share of olive oil cakes lately…but not chocolate. Looks like a found a great recipe now though! Thanks for sharing your recipe at Fiesta Friday…so happy you showed up with a beautiful cake. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks! And at the moment I feel great about it as a gluten free flour. It has no overwhelming flavour or smell, and I think it complimented the almond meal really well in terms of texture. It didn’t seem too powdery at all. Best of all a very common supermarket group that also allows online ordering, etc, has it in stock for cheap! So it’s cheap and convenient for me. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

