Dairy-Free · Donuts · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Spiced Powdered Donuts (g/f, d/f) and Chocolate Donuts (g/f, d/f)

IMG_8272

Donuts, donuts, donuts! It’s been a little while since I last did a post about donuts, which are fast becoming a rather simple and delicious treat I can whip up to take out to places at the last minute. I decided to make a batch of the Spiced Powdered Donuts for an after dinner treat at a gathering with friends last week, but the Chocolate Donuts, which I didn’t manage to snap a photo of, have also been rather popular at gatherings in the past. So I thought for this FF it might be nice to post up both of these recipes, as a baked donut, without the dairy or the gluten, can be a real treat!

One thing I will mention is that it’s best not to overfill the pans when making the spiced powered donuts, as those have some incredible rise to them! The first batch, as the photo well shows, kind of overflowed their holes while baking. The second time around I spread the mix much thinner, and even then I almost had a few overflowing. So I would recommend not overfilling each hole, as you really don’t need to!

Silvana’s 

Gluten-Free Dairy-Free Spiced Powdered Donuts

Makes: up to 10, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 15 mins

Ingredients

  • 1½ cups gluten-free plain flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp ground cinnamon
  • ¼ tsp ground nutmeg
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • ¼ cup canola oil (I used vegetabe oil)
  • ½ cup milk or dairy-free milk (I used rice milk)

Powder Coating Ingredients

  • 2 cups icing sugar (gluten-free)
  • 2 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp ground cloves

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C (160C) and grease two nonstick 6-doughnut pans with cooking spray, or a dairy-free substitute like nuttelex.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg.
    In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs, oil and milk until smooth; add to the flour mix and whisk until combined.
  3. Spoon into the prepared doughnut pans until about 1/2 full.
  4. Bake until springy and a toothpick inserted comes out clean, about 15 minutes.
  5. Then prepare the powder coating. In a small bowl, whisk together the remaining sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and cloves.
  6. Gently dredge the donuts in the powder mix and put onto a tray to cool completely.
  7. Serve with a drink like coffee, etc. Something to cut the sweetness of the donuts.

Gluten free Fix’s

Almond Flour Chocolate Donuts

Makes: 6-8 donuts Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 15 mins

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup coconut oil or butter
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup almond flour, packed
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • dash of sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp apple cider vinegar

Glaze Ingredients (Feel free to use it, I haven’t tested it yet, generally I make my own ganache.)

  • 1 oz unsweetened chocolate
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil or butter
  • 2-3 tbsp honey

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C (160C fan-forced), and grease 8 holes out of two six hole donut pans.
  2. Melt together coconut oil and honey, and then whisk in the cocoa powder.Whisk in eggs, one at a time.
  3. Add dry ingredients, combine well, and then stir in vinegar.
  4. Pour into donut pan, and bake for 12-15 minutes.
  5. Gently invert onto cooling rack.
  6. Then to prepare the glaze, gently melt together the chocolate, oil and  honey.  Whisk until smooth.  For a thin glaze use immediately, or for a thicker ganache texture allow to cool down and thicken.
  7. NOTE: I generally use a sort of thrown together ganache, so I can’t comment on theirs
  8. Dip the donuts in the chocolate glaze, sprinkle over say toasted coconut or flaked almonds, etc, and leave to set on the tray a little
33 thoughts on “Spiced Powdered Donuts (g/f, d/f) and Chocolate Donuts (g/f, d/f)

  1. I like to make baked donuts with holes too, even have one simple recipe on my blog but I have in my mind to try other recipes too and your Almond Flour Chocolate Donuts sounds great..:)

    Like

  2. These certainly do look good! I’ve made donuts once, years ago, and could not stop eating them. They were so good, like I imagine yours to be. I don’t know if I’ve yet developed enough self-discipline to prepare another batch. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

