Cakes · Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Food With Friends · Gluten-Free

Mocha Cake (g/f)

IMG_8293

This is a pre-planned post as I am currently on holiday.

I’ll admit that at the stage where I am baking two rather different cakes on a working night right towards the end of the week, despite the fact that I should be resting for going up to Melbourne, etc, I might be a little addicted to baking. But I have all sorts of excuses for attempting two cakes, the second of which I will be posting about next week for FF!

For one thing, a good friend of mine was having it a bit rough as it was crunch time at his uni, etc, and I thought I might cheer him up with a cake that has a flavour I hoped he would like! Mr. A is one of the oldest friends I have, after all, so I knew I wanted to give him something sweet and cheering! And that was what led me to pick this Mocha Cake.

I know he’s a coffee drinker, and I know he’s not opposed to chocolate cake either. But I do know he isn’t a fan of traditional icing or buttercream. Give him regular cream and he’s satisfied. So I hunted around for an alternative to the icing listed in the original recipe, as I had – like a dope, left the dairy-free whipping cream at Mr. P’s place and so couldn’t use it to make this a dairy-free recipe! I soon stumbled across a recipe for espresso whipped cream and did a big ole batch of that instead.

It had a rather strong flavour, which I hoped Mr. A would like, but which I suspected some of the teens and kids at the gathering I was taking it to might not. Also it seems too hilarious that I chose to put the cream on this cake  and attempt to photograph it when it was a stinking hot afternoon, like when the original author tried to photograph theirs! Within moments the cream had started to escape out the sides of the cake because of the intense heat, and it was straight back to the fridge with it!

But despite the escaping cream and the dire heat we all had a great night. I had a lot of laughs with Mr. A and I’m glad I got to hang out with him, and perhaps cheer him up a little bit! But that’s what friends are for!

Adapted From La Gallette’s

Mocha and Hazelnut Layer Cake

Serves: Up to 6, Prep: 30-35mins, Cook: 20-25 mins

Cake Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup coconut flour (or any other flour)
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp bi-carb soda
  • 8 eggs
  • 8 tbsp maple syrup (or any other liquid sweetener)
  • 8 tbsp melted coconut oil (I used nuttelex)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Dark chocolate, to decorate

Original Icing Ingredients

  • 3 cups coconut whipped cream (author uses this recipe.)
  • 1 tbsp espresso coffee, cold
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil, softened
  • 3 tbsp maple syrup (or honey)

Or, Martha Stewarts Espresso Whipped Cream

  • 3 cups thickened cream
  • 1/2 cup icing sugar
  • 2 tbsp espresso powder, dissolved in 2 tsp of water

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C (160c fan-forced). Grease 2 x 20cm round cake tins, dust with cocoa powder, and line the base with baking paper. Set aside.
  2. Sift the flour, cocoa, baking powder and baking soda in a large bowl.
  3. Add the eggs, maple syrup, melted coconut oil/nuttelex and vanilla and whisk until smooth.
  4. Divide the batter amongst the prepared tins and rest for 5 minutes.
  5. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until a skewer inserted into the middle of the cake comes out clean.
  6. Cool completely before icing.
  7. To make the icing: Whisk together the coconut whipped cream, espresso, cocoa powder, coconut oil and maple syrup until combined.
  8. OR, make the Martha Stewart Espresso Whipped Cream: Whip cream on medium speed for 4 to 6 minutes, or until soft peaks form. Add the icing sugar and espresso and whip again until soft peaks form again.
  9. Then to assemble: Place one cake round on a cake board/plate. Spread 1 1/2 cup of frosting onto the cake, smoothing out but leaving a 2cm gap on the sides.
  10. Sprinkle with flaked chocolate and hazelnuts. Repeat with the remaining layer.
  11. Refrigerate for 1 hour before serving.
17 thoughts on “Mocha Cake (g/f)

    1. Oh definitely! 🙂 But next time I would like to test out using the dairy free whippable creams I left at my partner’s place accidentally. Just so this would be entirely gluten and dairy free. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

