Dairy-Free · Experiments · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Misc. Desserts

Pancake Experiments: Buckwheat Pancakes (g/f, can be d/f) and Banana Pancakes (g/f, d/f)

IMG_8232

So, I’m rather excited about bringing these cooking experiments to this blog now, instead of leaving them aside for only my own benefit. Because I feel like it’s fun to share what I’m learning as I test all sorts of recipes and get a real feel for allergy friendly cooking. For this Fiesta Friday I decided to experiment with two kinds of pancake recipes, one which I thought would be more savoury, and one more likely to be a bit sweeter. Please leave me a comment and let me know what people’s pancake preferences are whether that be sweet or not, with toppings or without! Let me know!

So. The Banana Pancakes were the sweeter ones I chose, and weren’t that much of a success unfortunately. It was a shame, but I have come to appreciate a few things as a result of testing this recipe. One – that mashed bananas in pancakes can be so, so, so delicious, and that almond essence isn’t quite so overwhelming a flavour as I used to think it was. As a note, I thought this mix would work better being changed into a cake batter, as it had the wrong consistency for pancake batter when the recipe was followed to the letter. But it did remind me very strongly of paleo banana bread. I already know from making that for dad in the past that almond meal and banana together are fantastic, but it took this recipe to remind me exactly how fantastic a combination it is!

What Worked:

  • Assembly. Putting this mix together is so simple, and it took me less than fifteen minutes to do it even without a food processor.
  • Mashed bananas: Oh – this was delicious.
  • The addition of almond extract. I tend to avoid almond extract where possible because I used to find the flavour so overwhelming, and it left me with a chemical aftertaste in my mouth that was just so unpleasant. However, in this mix it really did work. Yum!

What Didn’t Work:

  • The texture and consistency of the batter. The batter was too dry, and far too thick. It wouldn’t spread and it wouldn’t hold together when flipped.
  • Adding extra moisture and giving it another go. Extra moisture did improve the texture of the batter, but it was still too thick too spread in the pan.

Next up were the Buckwheat Pancakes, which were a quick success. Buckwheat pancakes in my experience are generally much more savoury than regular pancakes, and I know people tend to therefore cut the buckwheat flour in half and mix it with other gluten-free flours to compensate for the buckwheat’s natural, more savoury taste. However I found I liked that, as it allowed me to slather them with nuttelex and honey and chomp on them for breakfast without feeling like I was getting a sugar overload. The texture of the final product was also pretty darn good, especially as I was expecting that it might even be grainy! But what I liked the best about this recipe was it’s versatile nature. It’s a savoury pancake, it’s not a sweet pancake, at least not to me! I’m not going to beat around the bush there. Do not expect this pancake to be sweet! However, as a result of that I think that it can be paired with say…savoury toppings like bacon and eggs – and this is how I was introduced to savoury buckwheat pancakes awhile back, or you can pair it with some of those delicious sweet toppings that might be too much with regular pancakes. I have seen caramelised apples as a suggested topping for buckwheat pancakes, and I found them lovely drizzled all over with maple syrup and a downed with a cup of tea! Not too sweet, so I didn’t feel like I had had a sugar overload at the end, as I used to with pancakes. Overall I would definitely call this recipe a success, because the batter did so well, the pancakes held their shape beautifully, and this recipe has a lot of promise as a base for more complex pancake breakfasts! I certainly wouldn’t expect to eat these alone, but there’s so much potential for different toppings! Be sure to check out the comments on the original post, as a lot of them had a lot of delicious alterations and suggestions as well.

What Worked:

  • Assembly. This mix took me all of five minutes to put together, and had a great yield.
  • Adding a little vanilla. You can’t go wrong with a little vanilla.
  • Texture and consistency of the batter. This batter was extremely easy to pour, and it held together really when flipped. It also developed really nice bubbles as it cooked, like I was hoping it would.
  • Replacing the milk. I used lactose free milk and it worked out exactly like I hoped it would. I noticed another commenter had also used another kind of substitute and it worked out fine for them.
  • Replacing the butter. I swapped it out for nuttelex and that was a simple, and successful swap.

What Didn’t Work:

  • Nothing. It was a pancake experiment success!

(Unsuccessful)

Diana Keuilian’s

Best Gluten-Free Banana Pancakes

Serves: 5, Prep: 10-15 mins + 15 mins rest time, Cook: 15-20 mins

Ingredients

  • 1 mashed banana
  • 2 eggs
  • ¼ cup coconut sugar
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • ¼ tsp almond extract
  • 1½ cups blanched almond flour
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • coconut oil for the pan

Method

  1. Combine the mashed banana, eggs, coconut sugar, vanilla and almond extracts in a food processor. Add the flour, soda and salt. Mix well. Let the batter sit for 15 minutes.
  2. Preheat coconut oil on your griddle over medium heat. Ladle pancake batter by ¼ cup onto griddle. When bubbles form, flip the pancakes to cook other side.
  3. Serve with sliced banana and pure maple syrup. Enjoy!

(Successful)

Nancy Lapid’s

Amazingly Easy Hodgson Mill Gluten-Free Buckwheat Pancake Recipe

Makes: up to 12 pancakes, Prep: 5 mins, Cook: 15-20 mins

Ingredients

  • 1 cup buckwheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 cup milk (I used a milk substitute, and another I noted another commenter has used rice milk)
  • 2 Tbsp melted butter or margarine (I used nuttelex dairy-free spread)
  • (I also added 1 tsp vanilla extract)

Method

  1. Preheat your pan, griddle or skillet. It should be ready when small drops of water sizzle and disappear almost immediately when flung into the pan.
  2. Mix the dry ingredients together, then add egg, milk and butter or margarine, beating well after each addition.
  3. Drop a generous dollop of butter, or dairy-free spread, etc, into the pan and spread it around. You will need to repeat this during cooking to stop each batch of pancakes from sticking.
  4. Pour 1/4 cup batter for each pancake into the hot pan. Cook until bubbles start appearing and bursting on the surface of the pancakes, and the edges start to look solid. Then flip each pancake over and cook the other side.
  5. Serve with your favourite choice of toppings.
17 thoughts on “Pancake Experiments: Buckwheat Pancakes (g/f, can be d/f) and Banana Pancakes (g/f, d/f)

    1. The coconut sugar I’ve tried is very similar to brown sugar in a lot of ways. I’ve actually used it instead of brown sugar in a few cookie recipes, etc, and I can’t say that i think it’s that much sweeter. But as I understand it there’s another coconut sugar which is white, which is a lot like white sugar. I haven’t tried that one, so I wouldn’t be able to say.

      Like

  1. I really want to try buckwheat. I love the fact that you have already shared your expertise with us so we wont have to go through the same thing! It’s disappointing when something doesn’t work, but it happens to all of us.

    Like

  2. I love how you have written this up – reminds me of chemistry experiments which, in essence, cooking is!! Will have to give the buckwheat ones a try when I have some flour in – they sound lovely. Also, just a reminder to edit your post to include a link to and a mention of Angie’s FF #36 post, especially if you would like to be considered for a feature. Thank you for bringing this to the party – Happy Fiesta Friday!!

    Like

  3. I am so excited to try this! I absolutely love buckwheat and buckwheat pancakes are, like, the best in the world!!! 🙂 Been loving all your recipes!

    ~Kelly C.

    Like

  4. I’m not surprised to hear that the texture of the banana ones didn’t go over too well. I love almond flour but it seems an odd substitute in this case.
    Great that the buckwheat pancakes were such a success! Thanks for sharing these recipes and giving some useful reviews.

    Like

Leave a Reply

