Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Misc. Desserts

Coconut Ice (g/f)

IMG_8193

I’m still at home for a little while, although I have now been to the doctor and talked about some options for helping me get well, as well as having a few tests done to see if we can see whether I’m at the tail end of this thing, or whether something else is keeping me down. So what I tried to focus on was not pushing myself too much this week, and resting as much as I could. I am finding that whatever this bug is, it wore me out. I also didn’t have much of an appetite, and when I did I tended not to be able to eat too much. But I focused on keeping up with fruit, veggies and meat where I could, on having healthier snacks and eating when I felt hungry to capitalise on it and that seemed to encourage a resurgence in my appetite. And as we know, good food helps recovery!

So when it came to blogging, I also decided to take the take it a little easier approach and have decided that for the next few posts, excepting cakes for some upcoming birthdays if I get requests, I might stick to some simpler things so I don’t get overtired while getting back into doing proper working weeks again. As I do have a few big bills coming up with regular car maintenance, etc, and cannot afford to be unwell for so long again. As I was thinking this I stumbled across this recipe for Coconut Ice, an old fate favourite of Dad’s, in an issue of Super Food Ideas Magazine. It’s very straightforward, sweet and simple. It took next to no time to whip up a batch of this, and then I was able to sit down and rest the whole rest of the afternoon while it set in the fridge! Simple! So here is a belated, classic contribution for Fiesta Friday. I hope you like it!

P.S it has been pointed out to me that this mix would work really well for the inside of a homemade bounty bar…

Super Food Ideas Magazine’s

Coconut Ice

Makes: up to 24 small squares, Prep: 20 mins, plus 3 hrs chilling time

Ingredients

  • 2 1/3 cups icing sugar, sifted (make sure it’s gluten-free)
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 x 395g can sweetened condensed milk
  • 3.5 cups dessicated coconut
  • 2 tsp vanilla essence
  • A drizzle of pink food colouring, to your colour preference

Method

  1. Line a 20cm square cake tin with baking paper, extending the paper 2cm up over the edges of the tin.
  2. Sift the cream of tartar and icing sugar into a large bowl.
  3. Add condensed milk, coconut and vanilla and mix well until combined. You may need to get the ‘ole hands in there if you’re having trouble with a spoon.
  4. Divide the mixture in half, and tint one portion with the pink food colouring. Leave the remaining portion plain.
  5. Press the plain mixture into the base of the prepared pan, levelling the top with a spoon. Then press the pink mixture over the top of the plain mixture (or the other way ’round if you prefer), and level the top of it with a spoon again.
  6. Cover, and chill for three hours or until set.
  7. Cut the coconut ice into small squares. Trust me, the mix is very rich and very delicious, but also very sweet, so you’re not missing out if you only use small squares.
  8. Serve.
57 thoughts on “Coconut Ice (g/f)

  1. Nell- so sorry you haven’t been well!!
    When you said you were sticking to simple, I looked at your picture and thought,”Wow, these look amazing and not simple at all!” 🙂 I’m glad to hear they actually are! Love the look and sound of them!

    Like

    1. Thank you! And they really are so fun and simple! It’s something I think that would work really well for little ones in particular, and I have had one of mum’s colleagues ask for the recipes she can make it with her kids. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

