Biscuits · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Shortbread Biscuits (g/f)

IMG_8150

As I mentioned in an update of that last post, I had a bit of relapse and ended up being unwell for much longer than I expected. But I did end up going to the doctor and getting some antibiotics, and that’s seemed to help me clear this thing up a lot. So I am a bit late in taking part in this Fiesta Friday, but I’m hoping that this contribution will bring a little delight to a few people’s afternoon teas! As I mentioned before, I have purchased a new cookbook, Good Without Gluten. But I have to admit that it’s not proving to be quite as straightforward as I would have expected, despite the fact that I have switched to using their flour blend am finding that that has made an overall improvement from before. I have experimented with two more of their recipes, and am still working to get them to – well, work for me both in terms of cooking time and flavour. I noticed that both cupcake batters I’ve tried were too liquid and needed more flour mix to be added, so it wasn’t a once-off thing. Although their cooking times were still spot on and their textures were soft and light, so that’s still a big plus. Flavour also needs work with the Pear-Almond Cupcakes, and I almost have that right. Though the sweetness still needs more testing, that’s all I have left to fiddle with before I know these cupcakes will be great! And I’m so close to getting these two recipes down pat that I’m still feeling good about it. Besides, I don’t mind having a lot of tester cupcakes and friands around for afternoon tea either!

In the meantime I whipped up a batch of their shortbread biscuits, and was delighted to find them an immediate success! It’s been a little while since I have done biscuits, and I couldn’t resist giving one more recipe a go before packing it in for the night so mum and dad could have the kitchen back. Unlike the cupcakes this recipe went together in a flash and required no changes. It was simple to measure out, and as I bought a cheap tool for cutting butter through into flour from an op shop awhile back, that also helped cut down the preparation time! Mum and dad both loved these, and mum has asked me to mark them in the book as being one of her favourites! She’s also going to be taking them to an afternoon tea! So while it is a bit disappointing that some of the recipes in this cookbook are a little odd, I’m still glad to have bought it. The shortbread biscuits are delicious, and adapting their recipes to make them workable also gives me something of a challenge to look forward to! A lot of their recipes are lactose free as well, as I mentioned before, and I’m more than willing to work to get good lactose free, gluten-free recipes up on this blog!

Good Without Gluten’s

Shortbread Biscuits

Makes: Up to 30, Prep: 20-25 mins, Cook: 15 mins

Ingredients

  • 100g cornflour
  • 100g rice flour, plus a little extra for dusting
  • 100g almond meal (blanched or not)
  • 100g coconut flour
  • 100g icing sugar (make sure it’s g/f)
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 250g unsalted butter, cold and cut into cubes
  • OPTIONAL: Caster sugar, for sprinkling.

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 170C (150C fan-forced) and line two baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Combine the flours, almond meal and icing sugar in a bowl and rub in the butter until the mix resembles coarse breadcrumbs.
  3. Add in the egg yolk and knead the mix with your hands until a smooth dough forms.
  4. Lightly flour a clean, flat surface with rice flour and roll out the dough to about 5mm thickness. Cut out your desired shapes and transfer them to the baking trays.
  5. Bake for 15 mins, or until lightly browned. Remove them from the oven. You can sprinkle their tops with icing sugar at this point, and then leave them to cool. Or leave them to cool, plain.
25 thoughts on “Shortbread Biscuits (g/f)

  1. Thanks for bringing these to Fiesta Friday. They look delicious. The kind of biscuit I like to have on hand when my guests with gluten restrictions drop by.

    Like

Leave a Reply

