Donuts · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

An experiment with Jam Donuts (g/f)

IMG_8110

This is a pre-planned post. I made these donuts for fiesta friday, but recently a family friend has passed away.  So I won’t be able to talk about them more than this. I’m sorry. As a little girl I would sometimes get jam donuts from the local bakery near my primary school. I remember biting into them and then having to hurry to take another bite before all the sweet jam dribbled out. Delicious. But as I got older I pretty much stopped having them, and since discovering my allergies I really hadn’t been able to find anywhere that I could get a decent one. So when I managed to get a hold of a copy of Baked Doughnuts for Everyone and saw it had a recipe for “Jelly Donuts” I decided to give it a go. Unfortunately not long after this we got the bad news.

We don’t have jelly here either, as the recipe called for, but that wasn’t a problem. I first tested this recipe in a donut hole pan, omitting the applesauce altogether. But although it rose very well it wasn’t the sort of mixture that held that shape well. The next batch I added even more jam, and made them in a regular donut pan. The mixture rose beautifully, and I discovered the deliciousness that is a warm jam filled donut sprinkled with icing sugar! If you want you could keep the applesauce in, or try replacing it one for one with butter – which is some other advice I was given, but I thought it was nice as is. Don’t skimp on that jam either, trust me!

Adapted from Baked Doughnuts for Everyone’s

Jelly-Filled Doughnuts

Makes: 8-10 donuts, Prep: 12-15 mins, Cook: 15-18 mins

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup (60g) oat flour
  • 1/2 cup (70g) sweet rice flour
  • OR: 130g gluten free plain flour
  • 1/3 cup (67g) pure cane sugar (I used regular white sugar.)
  • 3 tbsp (21g) almond meal (I used a full 3tbsp, which was more than 21g)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp (88ml) buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup (60g) unsweetened applesauce (You could replace this with 60g unsalted butter, but I left it out altogether)
  • 2 tbsp (28ml) oil
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla extract
  • up to 6 tbsp fruit jam (I used raspberry)
  • Icing sugar, for dusting

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 160C (fan-forced), and grease your donut pans.
  2. Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl.
  3. Whisk together the eggs, then add the remaining wet ingredients.
  4. Pour the wet ingredient mix into the dry ingredients and whisk to combine. The original author said not to stir too much – just until you don’t see any more flour, but I whisked mine until there were no flour lumps left instead.
  5. Spoon a very little amount of mixture into each donut hole and gently shake the pan back and forth to even it out. I do this simply so I can tell exactly how much is in there, and to get it spread out evenly.
  6. Add a ring of jam on top of this bottom layer, then spoon another amount of donut mix on top. These donuts rise really well, so you don’t need to overfill the holes, trust me.
  7. Bake for 15-18 mins, or until your donuts have risen, and are lightly golden brown on top. A toothpick inserted into them should come out clean.
  8. Let the donuts cool in the pan for 5 mins, then gently move them to a wire rack to cool completely. But I found I couldn’t wait, and sprinkled some still warm donuts with icing sugar. They were delicious.
29 thoughts on “An experiment with Jam Donuts (g/f)

  1. Nell, thank you for still sharing these treats with us at Fiesta Friday, and I hope you are doing well. These doughnuts look absolutely delicious, I’m definitely saving this recipe for coeliac friends as I know how much they love doughnuts.

    Like

  2. Sorry to hear about your friend. I actually just bought sweet rice flour (arriving next week). I haven’t used it before, so if you have any other flour mixes where you recommend using it, let me know!

    I actually made jam for FF this week! I use it to spice up my GF toasted bread all the time. (Jam is actually the only reason I eat GF bread). And, these look tasty! Happy FF and have a wonderful weekend.

    Like

    1. I’ll be sure to, especially as all the donuts in this book seem to be based on that flour mix. And that sounds delicious! Jam is one of those things that makes me think of home. And thank you for the kind words. Happy ff to you too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Nell, so sorry to hear that you’ve been having a tough week.
    Thank you so much for still posting your wonderful recipe though… all at FF will be more than grateful to admire these light and delicious looking treats. I’ve bookmarked it already! Thanks, Margot

    Like

Leave a Reply

