Cakes · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Chocolate Bundt Cake (g/f)

IMG_8079

It occurred to me that I don’t do a lot with chocolate. I think this is in part due to allergies, but also due to the weird misconception I had that I do chocolate things all the time. For some reason I was convinced I do more chocolate things than not. But upon looking back through this blog I realised I was wrong! I didn’t mind this too much at all, however, because it gave me the excuse to break out that bundt pan once more and to give a chocolate recipe a go! I stumbled across a good looking chocolate bundt cake, and was determined to make it. But at first I thought it wasn’t going to be doable, as it asked for flours I can’t really get, or would really want to spend the extra money on. However, I saw in the author’s notes that I could very easily substitute my own favoured flour by weight, and a commenter below mentioned that they’d done that and it worked. This cake had a lot of positive comments below it actually, and having made it I can understand why.

This is a very simple recipe, but it’s not bland as a result. It’s also more versatile than you’d think. I only had a six cup bundt pan, and still had a lot of mixture left. So I greased and floured two of the little star cake pans that I’ve had since I was a little girl, and then poured the leftover batter into them. They were easy to watch in the oven and only took about twenty or so minutes to cook. Yum!  They turned out to be very cute! I also whipped up a quick batch of runny chocolate ganache to go on top of the cake, but in true me fashion ended up also making far too much of it. So while the ganache was setting on the bundt cake and star cakes, I poured the remainder into a Lamington tin lined with gladwrap, and tossed in some roasted salted pistachios and roasted almond flakes as well as an extra pinch of sea salt flakes. Thus the cakes were done, and instead of going to waste, the ganache became the base for Salted Pistachio and Roasted Almond Flake Bark, which although it won’t set was still delish. Yum!

HAPPY FIESTA FRIDAY!

Adapted from the Gluten Free Girl’s

Gluten-Free Chocolate Bundt Cake

Serves: 7-8, Prep: 20 mins, Cook: 45 mins- 1hr

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups hot, brewed coffee
  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 350g gluten free plain flour  or (150 grams teff flour, 100 grams sweet rice flour, 100 grams potato starch
  • 1 big pinch salt
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons bi-carb soda (Feel free to add less, or to do a mix of baking powder and bi-carb soda like me. You don’t need that much to make this cake rise)
  • 1 cup white sugar (I dropped the original amount from 2 to 1.5 cups, and that was still a bit much. So I would recommend a cup or 1 1/4 cups at most)
  • 3 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 1/4 cups sour cream
  • 1 1/4 cup vegetable oil

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to about 175C. Grease a 12 cup bundt pan with butter and dust it lightly with more gluten free plain flour.
  2. Whisk together the flour, salt, and baking powder/bi-carb. Set aside.
  3. Whisk together the hot coffee and cocoa powder until no lumps remain. Set aside.
  4. Whisk together the sugar and eggs until well combined. You do want to try and at least get the vast majority of the sugar dissolved, trust me. Then Add the sour cream and oil, stirring well.
  5. Whisk the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients. Make sure the dry ingredients are fully incorporated into the wet ingredients. You shouldn’t see any hints of flour.
  6. Add the coffee-cocoa powder combination and stir, stir, stir until you have a smooth batter that is all one colour.
  7. Pour the batter into the prepared pan.
  8. Bake the cake for 45-60 mins, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.
  9. Remove the cake pan from the oven and allow it to cool for at least 20 minutes. This will help it slide out of the bundt pan later, believe me.
  10. Carefully invert the bundt pan onto a wire rack and tap the bottom of the pan if it seems to be sticking. The cake should slide out easily. Allow the cake to cool to room temperature, about 30 minutes.
  11. Enjoy.
  12. Makes 1 10-inch or 12 cup bundt cake

 

39 thoughts on “Chocolate Bundt Cake (g/f)

Leave a Reply

