Q and A

Applesauce Queries

Hello fellow bloggers and foodies alike! I need some advice. I would love to make some more gluten free donuts in the future, and have found some superb recipes which should allow me to do just that. However, although I think it should be simple enough to substitute some of their flours, as the weights for each are listed, each recipe also calls for unsweetened applesauce. Unsweetened applesauce isn’t a thing around here. Not as far as I can tell at least. Have others come up against this problem? If a recipe calls for applesauce, and it can’t be done, what are some substitutes I could use? Most of these donut recipes still contain eggs, buttermilk and oil and for the most part none of them seem to ask for more than two or three tablespoons of unsweetened applesauce. I don’t really want to risk just going without it, as I’m already prepping to try flour swapping. So what should I do? I’m really curious to see what you guys think. I’ve never cooked with unsweetened applesauce so I defer to your expertise!

xoxo

Nell

18 thoughts on “Applesauce Queries

  1. I make homemade applesauce from scratch and there is no sugar or spices added – just the natural sweetness and great flavor of the apples. Search Grandma’s Applesauce on my site – I have been making and canning this for many years 🙂

    Like

  2. I use the Santa Cruz organic Apple Sauce (found in Whole Foods or other health food stores). Ingred. list is just organic apples and ascorbic acid (vitamin C). There is no sugar added. Hope it helps. 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m not a baker but I have made a few gluten free cookies and brownies and I used apple sauce in the recipes and they were great! Gives such moisture but with flavour too. Try it you’ll like it 😉

    Like

  4. I just had similar conversation with a friend. I make my own apple sauce and do not use any sugar at all. If you use sweet apples, you won’t need sugar although some will swear that you added some. Here’s the link to my post. You’ll see how simple it is to make. (f you do not want links posted in your Comments, feel free to delete. No probs.)
    http://fromthebartolinikitchens.com/2011/09/14/dont-sit-under-that-apple-tree-make-apple-sauce/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s a good idea! I have actually been meaning to look into how to sterilise jars here, as I haven’t done anything like that since we lived at our first house with a far more temperamental oven! And I don’t mind links at all. 🙂 I really appreciate the help! 🙂

      Like

      1. If you’re looking for a quick fix, you can actually make applesauce in the microwave! Same concept, peel, dice, mash and just microwave until tender. I do it for a quick breakfast with toasted oats. And to your original question, I agree with omitting and subbing more fat if needed like you said. Good luck!

        Like

    1. Thanks for the advice! I wasn’t really sure why the applesauce was necessary either. I wondered if it was for extra flavour or moisture. But if the mixes I do try end up too dry because I’ve taken it out, my plan is to add a splash more butter or oil, as it is only a small amount of apple sauce. But thank you, that advice has really helped!

      Like

  5. You could always make your own, homemade applesauce and either go sugar-free or reduce the amount of sugar you put in. Or if that’s too much trouble, just adjust the amount of sugar you add to your recipe by a couple of Tablespoons and you should be good. 🙂 For yummy pumpkin donuts, pumpkin is a great alternative to eggs and oil, btw…

    Like

Leave a Reply

