Brownies and Misc. Slices · Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Dark Chocolate Pecan Brownies (g/f, d/f)

IMG_7977

So for this week’s fiesta friday I thought I would bring a long a slightly more decadent treat. As you can no doubt tell, I’m in a slice mood. I tend to have trends with baking, and at the moment it’s slices and such. But I don’t mind, as this means I’m getting more use out of the old slice pans I have sitting around in the cupboard, and it means I got to test out this allergy friendly brownies recipe! What a lot of people don’t realise is that dark chocolate, unlike milk or white, when it hits a certain percentage, really doesn’t tend to contain lactose or milk. This isn’t true for all brands, of course, as some do get contaminated through being processed with contaminated equipment, etc. But I tend to find that after a little bit of looking I can find dark chocolate without milk or lactose added to it, and I’ve noticed that in health food stores and in health food aisles in the bigger supermarkets, the range of available chocolates that are gluten and dairy free are increasing.

My interest in instagram is also increasing, I have to admit. A new friend from work, Miss S, introduced me to instagram the other morning. It’s quite interesting! I’ve found a lot of drool worthy photos of food to look at, and I’ve had a positive response to the photos I’ve put up as well!

These brownies are also very wonderful and a cinch to put together. I was really surprised at how little time it took me to get the batter ready and then to pop them in the oven. But I cheated with melting the chocolate and popped it into the microwave instead of setting it up over a saucepan of boiling water. Number one, this meant the bowls I used could go in the dishwasher, ha-ha! And number two, it meant that it took far less time for me to have the chocolate melted and ready to go. The smell of these brownies baking was superb, but I was even more delighted at their taste. They were sweet, but not too sweet, and their chocolate flavour wasn’t at all as overwhelming as it can be in some brownies. I loved their fudge-y texture, and I hope all of you do too!

Adapted from Rock My Style’s

Dairy and Gluten Free Pecan Brownies

Serves: up to 16, Prep: 20 mins, Cook: 30-45 mins (depending on oven), Cool: 1 hr

Ingredients

  • 125g dark chocolate broken in to pieces (ensure it’s dairy-free)
  • 225g soft dark brown sugar
  • 125ml sunflower oil/vegetable oil
  • 1/2tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 75g ground almonds
  • 25g rice flour
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ½ tsp gluten free baking powder
  • 75g chopped pecans

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C/fan160°C/gas 4. Grease and line an 8 inch square tin, or line a slice pan with baking paper.
  2. In a bowl, combine the sugar, oil, vanilla and eggs. Set aside.
  3. In another bowl, combine the almond meal, rice flour, salt, baking powder and chopped pecans. Set aside.
  4. Place the chocolate in a heatproof bowl and heat over a saucepan of gently simmering water, or heat in the microwave, until just melted and all the lumps are gone.
  5. Add the chocolate to the sugar and oil mix, and stir to combine.
  6. Add the flour and pecan mix to this and fold to combine.
  7. Tip the batter into the tin and bake for about 30-45 minutes, depending on your oven, until the middle still wobbles gently when you shake the tin. Remember this mix contains chocolate, it’s not going to set like a regular cake or slice.
  8. Remove from the oven and leave to cool in the tin for at least an hour before removing and cutting in to 12-16 squares.
  9. Serve just as is or with a dollop of ice cream and raspberries as a yummy dessert.
68 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Pecan Brownies (g/f, d/f)

  1. Nell, These pecan brownies look so decadent and absolutely delightful! I am just like you about melting chocolate – would rather use the microwave than the double boiler method for the same reasons as you stated! 🙂 thanks so much for bringing these to fiesta Friday! 🙂 And I need to check out instagram too! 🙂

    Like

  2. I don’t think I ever met a dark chocolate recipe I didn’t like, but this gf one looks like a must-try. And from the picture they seem to be just the right texture. Thanks for bringing them along to Fiesta Friday.

    Like

  3. These look so good, Nell. I have tried g_f brownies with rice flour and almonds, with an egg replacer, but they turn out crumbly. I guess eggs make a lot of difference. Yours look perfectly tempting with crunchy pecans too!

    Like

  4. Ooooh, I love that they have a fudge-y taste! I’d love to try to modify the recipe to take out the egg (because that’s all I’m allergic to in this recipe!). Let me know if you have any suggestions! Thanks for sharing, and have a wonderful weekend. 😀

    Like

    1. Hi there! You could try standard egg replacer, but I think you’d still need something liquid to try and bind this recipe. I think some people use apple sauce? I’m not exactly sure, I’m sorry.

      Like

      1. I’ll figure it out! Depending on the recipe I usually use apple sauce and banana puree or a canola oil, water, and baking powder combination. 🙂

        Like

  5. Hi Nell – I am one of the co-hosts for Fiesta Friday this week – welcome and let me take that plate full of the most gorgeous looking brownies off you and set them aside so that I can eat the entire lot myself! These look and sound amazing – well done and Happy Fiesta Friday!

    Like

      1. No rum for me as I have to do more penance for forgeting to be at the train station to collect her on time. She did send me a picture of my favourite rum to remind me of what I am missing!

        Mac 😦 Carole 🙂 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

