Brownies and Misc. Slices · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Apricot and Almond Tea Slice (g/f) (UPDATED)

IMG_7936

I’m still very much in a slice mood at the moment. As I was browsing, looking for recipes to fit that mood, I found one! This recipe actually comes from the Gluten Free Scallywag, and is in itself an adaptation of what I think is an Australian Women’s Weekly one. So I knew from the moment I saw it that it had to be good. Besides, I quite like the Gluten Free Scallywag. I could never hope to afford to be a regular buyer of their magazine, but their website is nice, and has some great recipes on it as well.

This slice is super simple to make, but quite sweet and delicious. Perfect for Fiesta Friday. It makes a nice addition to afternoon tea spreads, and even has the DSA, the dad seal of approval! What I like about this slice as well is the texture. The dessicated coconut and the almond meal give the slice this wonderful texture, which sets it apart from the slices I’e had before. I was pretty pleased with this recipe, I have to admit. It was simple to put together, didn’t take too long, and it looked glorious after I glazed it with the jam. Yum!

UPDATE: I’ve since cooked this slice again, and I was far more zealous with the beating the second time around. I was afraid I had been over-zealous, but when the slice cooked it was beautiful, smooth and the texture was soft. It was a hit at the birthday dinner I took it too!

Adapted from The Gluten Free Scallywag’s

Apricot and Almond Tea Slice

Serves: up to 15 or 16, depending on tin and slice size, Prep: 20 mins, Cook: 40-45 mins

Ingredients

  • 130g butter, softened
  • 125g brown sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 40g dessicated coconut
  • 85g plain gluten free flour
  • 160g almond meal
  • 220g greek yoghurt
  • 1 tin of apricot halves
  • A couple of tbsp of Apricot jam to glaze, gently warmed

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 170 C (Fan-Forced), and line a slice pan with baking paper.
  2. Beat together the butter, sugar and vanilla until thick and creamy. (I beat the business out of it the second time around). Then add the eggs one at a time, beating well between each addition.
  3. Whisk the coconut, gluten free flour and almond meal together in another bowl. Then add this mix to the batter in batches, alternating with the yoghurt, until combined. (I found the stand mixer really helped here, as I could keep beating the mix while adding each new ingredient, and i really think this helped improve the texture. So you might want to beat a lot between additions, or grab a kitchen hand.)
  4. Pour the batter into the slice pan and smooth out. Top with apricot halves, open side up, pressing them only just into the batter. You want to crowd these apricot halves, as the slice is definitely nicer when each bite contains some delicious apricot! (I crowded the apricots even more the second time around, using a whole tin of apricot halves to make three rows on top of the slice).
  5. Bake for approximately 40-45minutes, or until a skewer inserted into the slice comes out clean.
  6. Remove from the oven and brush with a few tablespoons of warmed apricot jam.
  7. Allow to cool completely (or at least for 30 minutes) before slicing into small squares and serving with fresh cream, gluten free vanilla yoghurt or even a big scoop of ice cream. (This slice was also amazing when gently warmed and served with ice-cream!)
29 thoughts on “Apricot and Almond Tea Slice (g/f) (UPDATED)

Leave a Reply

