Brownies and Misc. Slices · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Banana Walnut Slice (g/f)

IMG_7923

The recipe I went for first was in fact a lemon slice. However, this recipe turned out to be a bit of a dud. The dough didn’t do what it was meant to, and although I managed to save it somewhat, the flavour in the end left something to be desired. I wasn’t too bothered about this, although it was a waste of ingredients, because the recipe had no reviews and therefore I was taking a bit of a chance with it. Also, I had anticipated troubles beforehand and begun defrosting some frozen bananas to make banana walnut muffins, an adaptation of a lovely recipe for banana and chocolate chip muffins. I still had a slice pan out and able to be used, so instead of prepping some muffin tins I simply made the batter for the cupcakes and tipped it into the slice pan. It fit very well, and since I had the oven already pre-heated it took me next to no time to get this slice going! As a side-note, I did toss the chopped walnuts in the flour mixture to see whether that would help prevent them from sinking, and it was a success!

I switched from chocolate chips to walnuts because, to be honest, chocolate chips aren’t my favourite ingredient. But I’m loving using these walnuts in my baking, and we do have quite a lot of them left. Not to mention that banana and walnut is a delicious combination! This recipe is seriously easy! I would recommend adding some spices when you make it, however, if you’re not going to then match your slice with nice cream. I found that plain, the slice was quite nice, but could use spices like cinnamon and nutmeg, etc, but when warmed up and mixed with a little cream – naughty of me, I know, this slice became heavenly! It was fluffy, warm and so delicious! Who’d have thought that a little cream could bring out such loveliness in such a humble slice? Not too bad for a fiesta friday contribution I feel!

Adapted from Much Kneaded’s

Gluten-Free Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

Serves: 8, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 20-25 mins

Ingredients

  • 3 ripe bananas, peeled
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable or canola oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups gluten-free plain flour (Preferably one which contains xantham gum)
  • 1 1/2 tsp g/f baking powder
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, finely chopped, plus extra for topping
  • OPTIONAL: 1 tsp cinnamon, and 1 tsp nutmeg, or 1/2 tsp of each.

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to about 160C, fan-forced. Grease and line a small slice pan.
  2. In a large bowl, mash the bananas with a fork. Whisk in the sugar, oil, eggs, yogurt, and vanilla until smooth.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together (and spices if using), then toss the walnuts through.
  4. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until well combined, then tip the mixture into the slice pan and top with extra chopped walnuts.
  5. Bake for up to 25 mins, or until browned and a skewer inserted into the centre of the slice comes out clean.
  6. Let cool in the tin for a few minutes, and then serve the slices hot with cream, or carefully tip out onto a cooling rack to cool completely.
41 thoughts on “Banana Walnut Slice (g/f)

  1. Chocolate chips aren’t your favorite ingredients, Nell? Hmmm. I’d take separate chocolate chips with me when I eat some of your banana walnut slice. 😀

    Like

  2. Reminds me of our banana nut loaf, a favorite at our house. As far as you not liking chocolate chip, have you tired using the 60% cocoa by Ghirardelli. They are quite good and I only use those now. The semisweet Hershey stuff is just not up to par.

    Like

      1. It is true that eggs do help, and in some recipes I find I don’t need the xantham gum because the eggs seem to hold it all together just fine. But there are others which I find aren’t the same without it. But it is something I’d use in moderation, as it can be texture affecting.

        Like

Leave a Reply

