Biscuits · Cakes · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Chocolate Whoopie Pies (g/f)

IMG_7898

I finished my first three shifts this week! It’s amazing to be back out there, working, earning, and doing things! I have to say, I’m glad that I got this job, and I’m glad to have something productive to do to during the week. It does mean, however, that I’ve had to take a good hard look at my schedule and my budget, and figure out the things that I can and can’t do. I get paid per fortnight, so that was another thing to adjust to. However, the earnings are far better now than in any of my other jobs, so I’m able to keep up with bills and the medical expenses much better now!

But because I am focusing on keeping to a budget, it does mean that I need to plan in advance for what I’m going to make. I can’t splurge on random ingredients for recipes, no sir, no matter how tempting it might be…So I was thrilled when I stumbled across this recipe for chocolate whoopie pies, and realised that I had all the ingredients for it right here at home, and it wouldn’t be difficult to whip up a batch! Whoopie pies aren’t really a thing here, I have to admit. But they are lots of fun to make, and these are very, very chocolatey and delicious! Perfect for fiesta friday!

Adapted from Nadia French’s

Gluten-Free Chocolate Whoopie Pies 

Makes: Up to 30, Prep: 60 mins, Cook: 10 mins per batch

Ingredients

  • 125g butter, softened
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups gluten-free plain flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon gluten-free baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bi-carb soda
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk (I used a mix of milk and vinegar, a common substitute as I understand it)

Filling Ingredients

  • 125g unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 1/2  cups icing sugar, sifted
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder, sifted

Method

  1. Preheat oven to about 180C (or 160c-170C fan-forced). Line 3 large baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Using an electric mixer, beat butter, vanilla and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating well after each addition. Then sift flour, cocoa, baking powder and bi-carb into a large bowl.
  3. Add half the flour mixture to butter mixture. Stir to combine. Add half the buttermilk. Stir. Repeat with remaining flour mixture and buttermilk until just combined, and no flour lumps remain.
  4. Spoon batter in a large piping bag fitted with a 1cm plain nozzle. Pipe about 32, 3cm wide rounds onto prepared trays, 5cm apart, allowing room for spreading. Stand for 15 minutes. Then bake for 10 minutes or until tops are firm.
  5. Cool on trays.
  6. Make Filling: Using an electric mixer, beat butter in a bowl until light and fluffy. Gradually beat in icing sugar and cocoa. Spoon mixture into a piping bag fitted with a 2cm fluted nozzle. Pipe filling onto 16 of the rounds – or use a knife if you don’t have the time for piping. Gently top with remaining rounds.
  7. Store in an airtight container in the fridge.
61 thoughts on “Chocolate Whoopie Pies (g/f)

  1. They look lovely. I make WP for the first time earlier this year. They are surprisingly addictive (I’m not a sweets person).

    Have you tried sandwiching ice cream? mmmmmmm

    Like

  2. Love, love, love whoopie pies, Nell! These sound delicious…I’m a big fan of the double chocolate variety you’re offering today. I love when I stumble across a recipe and everything I need is already in the house…I view it as a sign that I HAVE to make it…now! (So happy you’re enjoying your job!)

    Like

  3. Congrats on your shifts, Nell! Way to celebrate with these whoopie pies. I have been meaning to make red velvet ones but keep forgetting. Thanks for the reminder with your delicious chocolate ones! 😀

    Like

  4. I understand about planning in advance what you are going to make. That’s one of the reasons why I always plan what to make in a month – so I could include them on the budget. These, btw, look so lovely, Nell! I hope you have a relaxing weekend and have a lovely FF!

    Like

Leave a Reply

