Cakes · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Coffee and Walnut Cake (g/f)

IMG_7894

Here I am again for Fiesta Friday! It’s been a long two weeks with the job training, but very satisfying. I like learning new skills, and I like having something to do during the day. It really does make your free time all the more special, because you know it’s more of a reward, and there’s less of it. I’m using mine to enjoy the pleasure of making even more cakes! It’s been great to be able to just flip through my books and pick whatever cake recipe I want to try, and then to go and make it with confidence! Although in the case of this cake I wasn’t able to get more than one cake tin’s worth of cake out of it, despite it having been described as a layer cake…But anyway. Our new little street – thing, which is really just a block of about ten houses connected by one long driveway, is also quite a friendly and receptive place for baked goods. So I know that even if I bake on a weekend, nothing will go to waste! Besides, it’s nice to bring little treats to my neighbours, they bring such a nice atmosphere to the area, as well as their lovely dogs!

It’s not a secret that I love dogs. I love all animals. But ever since I was little I’ve wanted a dog, and I myself didn’t realise how passionate I had become about this until a friend let me hold her brand new puppy. She’s a gorgeous little daschund! As I was cradling that little ball of cuteness and warmth, I actually started to feel overwhelmed and even started to cry a little bit! I was so overwhelmed by all these feelings of joy and serenity at having that little puppy in my arms. It was a little embarrassing, I’ll admit. But those were happy  tears! It was a beautiful moment, and I’m so grateful that my friends always indulge me when it comes to these things. I have some absolutely wonderful friends, who also let me snuggle with their puppies (and kittens) as much as I like.

The Gluten-Free Cookbook’s

Coffee and Walnut Cake

Serves: 6-8, Prep: 20 mins Cook: 20-25 mins

Ingredients

  • 175g unsalted butter, softened
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 175g gluten-free self-raising flour
  • 3 tbsp espresso coffee
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 60g walnut pieces, finely chopped, plus extra to decorate

Buttercream Ingredients

  • 100g unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 tbsp espresso coffee
  • 200g icing sugar

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C, and grease, line and dust a 20cm cake tin.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy, then add the eggs one at a time. Beat well after each addition. Add in 1-2 tbsp of the flour with the last egg to stop the mixture from curdling.
  3. Then add the remaining flour, the 3 tbsp of coffee and the vanilla extract, and whisk again until combined and fluffy.  Gently fold in the walnut pieces and spoon the mixture into your cake tin.
  4. Bake for 20-25 mins, or until the cake is golden brown and a skewer inserted into its centre comes out clean. Let cool in the tin for a few minutes, then gently transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.
  5. Once the cake is cool, prepare the buttercream. Combine the butter and icing sugar, beating until pale and fluffy. Then add in the 1 tbsp of coffee and beat for a further five or so minutes, until the buttercream is very smooth. Spread your buttercream all over the top and sides of the cake, and then decorate with more walnuts.
  6. Serve!
41 thoughts on “Coffee and Walnut Cake (g/f)

  1. Hi Nell, it’s great to hear your job training is going well, and I agree it makes spare time that much more special. This coffee and walnut cake looks like a great way to enjoy your time off, no wonder your neighbours love your baking too! 🙂

    Like

  2. This cake sounds delicious, Nell! I’ve never thought to make espresso buttercream before, I imagine it paired beautifully with the cake. Love your puppy story too…no shame is happy tears!

    Like

  3. We have a small zoo going on here at our house with 1 dog and 3 cats, I am such an animal lover too! Fantastic recipe! I love the combination of espresso and walnuts! 🙂

    Like

  4. Nell!! Welcome welcome welcome!! I absolutely loved this post..I love the sound of your neighborhood. .. sounds like a happy place to live! Your story of the puppy made me smile, I’ve shed many tears over puppies!
    What an absolutely wonderful cake to bring to the table for Fiesta Friday! Thank you for sharing this awesome treat with all of us! Im loving the coffee and walnut flavor.. have a wonderful weekend! ❤

    Like

      1. Made it using 6 mini loaf tins. And used some cold, liquid, high roast cuban cafetierre, coffee I reduced a little for the flavouring. Didn’t have any SR Flour so used plain with baking powder.

        Gone in two days so definately a success!

        Like

  5. I love cats, Nell! I love dogs, too! 🙂
    But I love this cake more! 😀 I will definitely take more than one slice! Or I could take the whole cake, if you don’t mind. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

