Cakes · Fiesta Friday · Food With Friends · Gluten-Free

Butter Cake (g/f)

IMG_7867

It’s a bit belated, but here I am for fiesta Friday! This post is actually about  cake I made before I started training, for  friend’s birthday. So I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

It’s a terrible idea to leave me unattended in a discount bookstore. I will inevitably start looking at the cookbooks, and after thoroughly examining all the options, will find one which suits me so well, and which I know I’d regret if I didn’t purchase. So, as you can imagine I’m often wary of letting myself go alone into bookstores, especially as I promised myself I wouldn’t start a cookbook collection until I started working properly later this month, and we don’t have that much more space for even a couple of books. But I was at the mall, as my old friend James and I were combining forces to get another friend of ours, Andrew, a birthday present, and I soon found myself alone in a discount bookstore – browsing the cookbooks. Dang it! However, I’m glad I did end up purchasing this particular cookbook, The Gluten Free Bible, because it has some amazing recipes!

I tend to find that what attracts me to cookbooks are their desserts, as the mains and savouries don’t often look or sound as appealing to me. I don’t even often eat desserts, but I love, love, love to make them and share them with as many people as I can. However, as I was flipping through this cookbook I found delicious main after delicious main, and all of them seemed relatively cheap and not overly time consuming to make! I’m still drooling over their recipe for chicken korma curry! Not to mention, nothing in this book required ingredients I couldn’t find at my local grocery store, so that was an added bonus! As was the fact that this cookbook contained a very easy, and very versatile recipe for butter cake.

Not long after we finished shopping, Andrew asked me if I would make his birthday cake for him. However, he doesn’t particularly like icing, and while that’s more than fair enough it did make me think about what sort of cake I could do that would be nice, but wouldn’t  require icing or anything too much like it. He then reminded me of a cake I’d brought him for another birthday, which was a plain vanilla cake with jam and cream, and how he thought that was really nice. Well, I had a brand new book with a brand new recipe for butter cake, and I knew he liked that sort of cake. So I was sold. I immediately went and did a tester of this recipe that very night, and it was a success! I had even more success on the actual day, and had lots of fun planning the decoration of said cake with mum, and learning from my dad how to use the cheap reflector we had stashed in the garage.

However, not only is this recipe good for your typical two layer, jam and cream cake. The book also has a lot of other suggestions for how to adapt it to make other types of cakes! I’ll add those in the method section, because they looked fantastic to me. So a big happy birthday to Andrew, may we continue to be silly friends for a good few decades more!

Adapted from The Gluten Free Bible’s

Basic Butter Cake

Serves: 6-8, Prep: up to 40 mins, Cook: up to 35 mins

Ingredients

  • 250g unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1cup caster sugar
  • 3 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 large eggs – each egg will need to be lightly beaten, but you add the eggs one at a time, so don’t combine them and beat them.
  • 1.5 cups g/f self-raising flour
  • 2/3 cups rice flour
  • 2/3 cup non-wheaten cornflour
  • 3 tsp g/f baking powder
  • 6 tbsp lukewarm milk

Filling

  • A number of filler options can be used here, but I suggest berry jam and whipped cream and fresh berries to complement your jam.

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C (160C fan-forced), and grease and line two 23 cm spring-form cake tins. (I also used two regular, smaller cake tins, the kind used for sponge cakes, and had no trouble)
  2. Beat the butter and sugar until pale and fluffy, then add the vanilla, and the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
  3. Sift the flours and baking powder over the mixture and fold in, adding the milk a little at a time to make a thick batter.
  4. Once the batter has come together, tip half into one tin, and smooth out, and half into the other, and smooth out.
  5. Bake the cakes for up to 35 mins, or until the cake is firm, golden-brown, and a skewer inserted into the centre of the cake comes out clean.
  6. Leave the cakes to cool in their tins for at least 10-15 mins, before gently running a knife around the edge of the cake to make sure it’s not attached to the edges, and turning out onto a cake rack to cool completely.
  7. Once cool, spread a layer of jam on the top of one cake, then slather on a layer of cream. Add the second cake gently, then cover the top of it with jam and cream as well, or simply dust it with icing sugar. If you’re worried about the top of your cake not being flat, you can either trim it, or place the cake so that the curved top is facing into the middle, and the flat base is now the top.
  8. OTHER OPTIONS. Please take note that I doubled the recipe to make a layer cake, these following options are for a single amount of cake batter, so you will need to halve the recipe I have posted above.
  9. Option 1: To make cupcakes, prepare a cupcake pan with cupcake cases, then feel each three-quarters full with the batter, and bake for up to 12 mins, or until firm and golden, and a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean. Cool the cupcakes, then decorate as needed.
  10. Option 2: To make lamingtons, grease and line a square baking tin for up to 35 mins, or until firm and golden, and a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean. Allow to cool in the tin, then flip out onto a cooling rack to cool completely. Once cool, cut the cake into 12 squares. In a shallow tray, spread out about 1.5 cups of dessicated coconut. In a bowl, combine 2 cups g/f icing sugar, 1/3 cup cocoa powder and 1/2 cup bowling water and mix well. Then tip this chocolate mix into another shallow dish. One by one, dip each square of cake into the chocolate mixture, then roll them in the dessicated coconut. Set them aside to dry.
  11. Option 3: To make a teacake, simply spread melted butter over the top of the cooked cake and sprinkle thickly with cinnamon sugar. For an apple tea-cake, coat thin slices of apple with g/f cornflour, and then press them into the top of the cake just before putting it in to bake.
  12. Option 4: To make an upside down cake, brush the baking paper lined base of your cake tin with melted butter, then spread thickly with brown sugar. Cover this base evenly with thinly sliced pineapple or pear, before pouring in the cake batter. Once cooked, and given a chance to cool in the tin, invert the cake onto a cake rack to cool completely, and then serve. or serve warm if you prefer.
38 thoughts on “Butter Cake (g/f)

  1. Aw Nell, this is just beautiful! I very rarely make sandwich-like cakes but whenever I see a photo like yours I wanna rush right out and buy jam and cream! And yes…. argh, I agree with everyone else. Discount bookstores are both wonderful and dangerous at the same time 😉

    Like

  2. One of the dangerous places on earth – discount bookstores! 😀 This cake is so beautiful, Nell! And it’s better late than never! I’m glad you made it to FF! 😉

    Like

      1. I promised myself I will not buy a single book until my birthday, but (whew!) I got one lats week. 😀

        Have a fab weekend, Nell! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

