Biscuits · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Lemon and Polenta Cookies (g/f)

IMG_7801

I’ll soon be taking part in work training as of next week! I’m very excited to start the training, although it will mean I’ll essentially be doing full-time working hours for the first nine working days. It’s always exciting to learn new skills, especially ones which will help me in my professional life from this point forward! It will also be good to be earning a proper wage again, especially now that I don’t have studies, etc to worry about as well! I’m so excited! But it does mean there may be delays in my blog posts, as I won’t really be on the computer during the day, and may be too tired of being at a desk and a computer when I get home in the evenings. But I will attempt to keep up with my posts on the weekends, and as I work out what my work roster will be!

This fiesta friday post is one all about lemon and polenta cookies! Although not the same lemon and polenta cookies as I baked a while ago, no. I wanted something more like a sugar cookie, something which I could roll out, cut-out, ice and generally make a lot of mess with, and dad did specifically request lemon and polenta cookies! I was browsing the web for such a cookie recipe when I stumbled across the perfect one. It was a roll-out lemon and polenta cookie recipe, and it looked delicious. Now, while I know some people dislike the texture of polenta in baked goods, I’m finding that it’s really growing on me. It’s crunchy, it’s a little bit – gritty, for lack of a better word. It gives these biscuits a wonderful texture too.

Polenta is also now available in pretty much all the groceries stores I’ve been too, small and local, or big and inter-city. To be honest I was surprised that one relatively big packet of polenta is cheaper than most regular flours. But I suspect that this is because I know a lot of people are cooking with it more and more these days, as the amount of delicious polenta recipes available increases. As a side note, you do have the option to ice your biscuits like I did, or leave them plain. I liked them iced better than plain, and wanted them to be even a little bit better decorated, so I whipped up some plain vanilla icing and mixed in some yellow food colouring to make my duckies yellow. But you can make them whatever colour or pattern you like. Experiment!

Stefania Oliveri’s

Biscuits with Lemon and Polenta

Makes: Up to 20, Prep: 25-30 mins, Chill: min 30 mins, Cook: 10-15 mins

Ingredients

  • 300 g gluten free all purpose flour
  • 200 g unsalted butter
  • 150 g polenta
  • 150 g white sugar
  • 4 egg yolks
  • Zest of 2 lemons
  • One pinch of salt

Nell’s Rough Vanilla Icing Recipe

  • Up to 2 cups of icing sugar, sifted
  • About a tablespoon of milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Several drops of food colouring (Use more or less, depending on the colour result you want)
Method
  1. Pre-heat your oven to 180C (160c fan-forced), and line two baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Beat the softened butter with sugar and lemon zest until creamy and light in colour. Then add egg yolks, one at a time. Finally, mix in the flour, polenta and salt.
  3. Form a ball with the dough, wrap it in cling-wrap and pop it in the fridge for at least half an hour.
  4. Then turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and roll out to a thickness of about 4mm. Sometimes I find it easier to roll it out in portions. Then cut out the cookies using your desired cookie cutter. I used a duck shaped one.
  5. Place them on the trays and bake the biscuits for 10-15 minutes or until they begin to brown slightly around the edges.
  6. Remove from the oven and allow to cool for five or so minutes on the tray before moving them to wire racks to cool completely. You might want to use a thin knife to do this, as these are cookies that require gentle handling until they’re completely cold.
  7. Once the cookies are cool, prepare the icing. Combine all the ingredients for the icing in a bowl, then smooth spoonfuls of icing over each cookie.
  8. Leave the cookies out to set for a little while, then store them in an airtight container.
41 thoughts on “Lemon and Polenta Cookies (g/f)

  1. Beautiful cookies, Nell! I love all your lemon concoctions, as lemons are one of my favorite things! Good luck on the training — I’m excited for you just thinking about learning new skills and doing something new. Have a wonderful time!

    Like

  2. How fun and festive! Love the yellow ducks. I’ve never tried polenta in a cookie/bisquit. But parties are all about trying new things. Good luck on your training!!!!! Happy Fiesta Friday.

    Like

  3. I know what you mean about having delays on blogging due to trainings (busy life at work for me). But I hope you still make it to FFs! 😉

    These, by the way, look delicious! Thank you for bringing them today!

    PS: Congrats on the feature! ❤

    Like

  4. These look adorable! I, for one, love polenta biscuits – I rather like that gritty, crumbly texture. I hadn’t seen a recipe for rolling out the dough so this is a lovely recipe to add to my bookmarks! Thanks so much for bringing these with you to Fiesta Friday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

