Cakes · Dairy-Free · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Lemon and Olive Oil Cake (g/f, d/f – if using original glaze)

IMG_7774

Onwards! The lemon recipe adventure has been a lot of fun. Not to mention it’s given me a good excuse to try using my bundt pan for the very first time! I was given the bundt pan for christmas, but until this cake I hadn’t found a recipe that demanded that I use it straight away! What I like about this recipe is that it didn’t ask for complicated flour blends, or special flour replacements, like so many of the others I looked into did. Unfortunately a lot of those ingredients are more expensive than I would like, given that you don’t often get a lot for your dollar, and they require special trips to special stores on the other side of town from me now, to be found. Lately I’ve had a lot of people who don’t often cook gluten-free, or who want easy gluten-free recipes to share with their friends, asking me for ideas. So I also don’t want to make recipes with ingredients that they would find difficult to get, just in case, and so far the response has been very positive! Mum’s work colleagues have seemed to really like being official taste testers for me, and surprisingly a lot of people have been asking me for the recipe for those apple cider donuts I made awhile back. It’s really heart-warming to know that I’m making people happy with my baking exploits, and I really love sharing recipes with people too! So I couldn’t be happier to be sharing this recipe with you guys this fiesta friday!

Speaking of which, this bundt cake recipe is quite simple and delicious. It reminds me a lot of lemon and honey tea, and was so dense and moist once cooked! In the end I decided to use up more of the cream cheese from the fridge and make more cream cheese icing, but it worked wonderfully with the cake. I would recommend keeping the original glaze in mind if, like me, you also have dairy and refined sugar intolerant friends. The original glaze looks lovely, and seems fairly straightforward to make. But the batter went together without a fuss, filled my bundt pan right to the top, and after being allowed to cool in the tin for half an hour, it popped out without any fuss whatsoever. I suspect this was because I did let it rest, and because I greased the pan quite thickly with butter rather than olive oil like the original recipe asked for. I also think that my bundt pan has a 6-cup capacity, rather than the 12-cup asked for in the original, but the mixture still fit beautifully.

Ever so Slightly Adapted From A Calculated Whisk’s

Lemon Olive Oil Cake

Serves: 6-8, Prep: 15-20 mins (plus 1-2 hrs soaking time for the cashews if you’re doing the original glaze), Cook: 25-30 mins

Ingredients

  • 2.5 cups almond meal
  • 3/4 cup arrowroot/tapioca starch
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp bi-carb soda
  • 1 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 lemon juice
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tbsp lemon zest

Original Glaze Ingredients

  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup cashews, soaked in water for 1/2 hours and then drained
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp lemon zest
  • 2-3 tbsp water, or as needed

Natasha’s Kitchen Cream Cheese Icing

  • 250g cream cheese, softened at room temp (or use the spreadable version)
  • 1.5 cups icing sugar
  • 1.5 cups thickened cream
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to about 175-180C (150-160C fan-forced), and thoroughly grease a 6-cup/12-cup capacity bundt pan with butter.
  2. Combine all the dry ingredients in one bowl, and then the wet ingredients and the lemon zest in another. Pour the wet mix into the dry mix, and stir until well combined.
  3. Pour the batter into your bundt pan, and bake for 25-30 mins, or until set, browned on top and a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean. As the original author of the recipe said, a few dry crumbs is all right, but liquid is not.
  4. Cool your cake in the pan for about 30 mins before attempting to tip it out. Trust me, allowing the cake to cool will make it easier to remove. If you’re lucky like me then all you’ll have to do is tip the cake out. If yours is a bit stuck then the author recommends running a thin knife around the edge.
  5. For the original glaze: combine all the glaze ingredients in a blender or food processor. Blend/process until smooth, adding water as necessary, until it’s a pourable consistency. Drizzle the glaze over the top of the cake, then slice and serve!
  6. Or, for the cream cheese icing: Beat the cream in one bowl until fluffy, but not overly stiff. It needs to be foldable. Then in a second bowl, beat the cream cheese and icing sugar together until combined, then beat in the vanilla extract. Then fold the whipped cream into the cream cheese mixture until combined. Spread onto the cake, and serve.
  7. NOTE: If you want your cream cheese icing to run down the sides like mine did, the trick is to not beat the cream too much. Beat it only until soft peaks form, but it’s still quite soft, and then fold it through the cream cheese mixture. This makes the icing much, much softer and runnier.
51 thoughts on “Lemon and Olive Oil Cake (g/f, d/f – if using original glaze)

  1. So glad that you were able to join the party. I tried to catch up with you yesterday but you were always too far away (for some reason, my device was incompatible with your site and would not let me post). So good to finally be able to say hello.

    This cake is exquisite; I love using olive oil too. Your description of honey lemon tea got me thinking, would it be a great addition to the batter as well? Oh how I wish I could grow a Meyer lemon tree; perhaps I will need to move somewhere warmer. Enjoy the rest of the weekend.

    Like

    1. Oh, I hope that won’t continue to be a problem in the future. 🙂 I like visitors! And I can only imagine that adding the tea would make that lemon-honey flavour that much richer! 🙂 I wish I could grow one myself, as apparently their flavour is exquisite! Have a great week! 🙂

      Like

  2. Mmmmm. I looked at it early this morning, and it still looks good, if not better, the second time around (or maybe I’m hungrier?). Now, can I find a way to make it egg free?

    Like

  3. Oh, this looks so pretty, Nell! Perfect for a Spring party or Fall. Fall is when citrus are at their peak, isn’t it? So the lemons we get right now must have come from your neck of the woods. I always make sure I never run out of lemons, no matter the season. I use it in everything. I need to make something like this asap. Thanks for the idea. 🙂

    Like

  4. Oh I can’t wait to try this. I’ve been looking for a gluten-free alternative to traditional lemon pound cake. I’ll be bookmarking this…PS – what does d/s mean?

    Like

  5. Honestly, I have not tried any cakes/desserts with lemon. But this looks so good, Nell! And the drizzle? Wow! And ehem, of course notice that this is a bundt cake. So lovely to use a new pan, isn’t it? 😀

    Like

    1. You should definitely give it a go! Lemon never fails to impress me! 🙂 And it is such an incredible feeling. I get really giddy whenever I try new things because I’m so excited. 😀

      Like

  6. This sounds so fresh, and looks absolutely delicious – perfect for Spring.
    I’ll be baking it this weekend; thanks for the recipe.
    I love the idea of trying lemon & olive oil in a cake.
    Emma 🙂

    Like

  7. Mmm, Mmm…this sounds fantastic! I’m a big fan of cakes like this, Nell…those that have a rather short ingredient list, yet still burst with flavor! I love lemony desserts and paired with the cream cheese icing, this one sounds delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

