Donuts · Gluten-Free

Lemon and Rosemary Donuts

IMG_7832

As part of my lemon kick, I decided to whip up some lemon-y donuts for this mother’s day. I was quite excited when I stumbled across a rather delicious looking recipe for lemon and rosemary donuts, as I love the combination of lemon and rosemary, and I know my mum does too. So I immediately ducked out to the store to grab some rosemary, as sadly we no longer have rosemary bushes since moving house, and then got straight into it! One of the perks of this recipe is that it’s not at all complicated, or difficult to put together. Another is that it makes very good use of the fresh rosemary, but doesn’t make it overpowering. I noticed when I first bit into one as a test that they also had a wonderfully chewy texture, and I was more satisfied chewing on one of these homemade donuts than I have been with store-bought ones.

IMG_7840

But these donuts are for my mum, and the other mothers at her work who will get to share in them tomorrow. I love my mum. She’s been there through the good times, and the bad, she’s never let me give up on myself or my dreams, and she’s always pushed me to be the best that I can be, and that I want to be, regardless of the opposition I’ve faced. There are countless women in this world, but only one of them is my beloved mum. So I want to say a big, big, big, big, big, thank you to my mum. I’m glad I was born yours, I couldn’t have been given a more loving family or home, or a more dedicated mum. So happy mother’s day mum! I love you!

La Casa de Sweets’

Lemon and Rosemary Olive Oil Donuts

Makes: 12 donuts, Prep: 20 mins, Cook: 15-20 mins

Ingredients

  • 2 cups g/f all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup or honey
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 tablespoons milk
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons lemon zest (I used the zest of 2 lemons)
  • 1/2 teaspoon rosemary, finely chopped

Original Sugar Crust Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • Zest of 2 lemons
  • 1/4 teaspoon rosemary
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • Juice of 2 lemons

Nell’s Quick Lemon Glaze (if you don’t want to do the sugar crust)

  • 1 cup icing sugar, g/f
  • Up to 3 tsbp tbsp lemon juice
  • OPTIONAL: A few drops of yellow food colouring

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C (160C fan-forced), and grease two six-hole donut pans.
  2. In one bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and the pinch of salt.
  3. In another bowl, whisk together all the remaining ingredients.
  4. Stir the wet mix into the dry mix with a wooden spoon until well combined, and no lumps remain.
  5. Spoon the mix into the donut pans, filling each hole almost to the very top, and then bake for 15-20 minutes, or until lightly browned and a skewer inserted into them comes out clean. A few crumbs is all right, liquid is not.
  6. Let cool for 5 mins in the pan, then tip them out onto a wire rack to cool complete.
  7. For the original sugar crust topping: In a small bowl, combine the sugar, lemon zest and rosemary.  In another small bowl, whisk together the olive oil and lemon juice.  Dip each cooled doughnut into the olive oil-lemon juice mixture, then immediately dip the doughnut in the sugar mixture, coating the top of each doughnut. Repeat until all the doughnuts have been dipped in the olive oil and sugar.  Return to the cooling rack and let sit until the sugar topping has hardened, at least 1 hour, and enjoy!
  8. For the quick lemon glaze: Combine the icing sugar and lemon juice in a bowl, adding the lemon juice one tablespoon at a time until the glaze reaches your desired consistency. If you like, you can add a few drops of yellow food colouring. Then spoon the glaze onto the donuts, and leave them to set, before storing in an air right container. If you like you can place peaces of baking paper between the layers of donuts to stop them sticking to each other.
43 thoughts on “Lemon and Rosemary Donuts

  1. I love the combination of lemon and rosemary….so I really enjoy your bagels!!! I’ve just prepared yummy tartellettes with olive oil pastry and rosemary scented cream

    ciao
    Silvia

    Like

  2. Yum – I love lemon and rosemary and love that these are baked and not fried! Your mum sounds wonderful – I hope my son feels that way about me when he gets older – at the moment I am probably a right royal pain – well he is 16!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

