Biscuits · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Anzac Cookies (g/f)

IMG_7723

ANZAC Day is an important national event here in Australia, and indeed in quite a few other places across the world. For Australians, it’s a day to remember the many soldiers that fought and died in the battle of Gallipoli, landing there on the 25th of April 1915. But I’m not only referring to the Australian soldiers when I say this, no. What some people don’t realise is that the word ANZAC actually stands for the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps, and that the Anzacs were soldiers from both Australia and New Zealand. It’s important to remember their sacrifice and their courage, even today. It’s important to remember where we came from, so that – hopefully, we don’t repeat our past mistakes, and we continue to strive for peace and understanding.

But this day also conjures thoughts of a very particular treat, a biscuit which I think has become as big a part to the classic Aussie image as pavlova and lamingtons. The Anzac biscuit. Anzac biscuits are delicious and come in all sorts of textures, from hard to soft, from chewy to crumbly. But these famous cookies are also famously full of gluten. So imagine my delight when I opened a copy of Super Food Ideas magazine to discover a gluten-free anzac biscuit recipe, using quinoa flakes instead of oats! I had to give it a try. The result was utterly delicious, soft and chewy anzac biscuits! Yum! I didn’t miss the oats at all, and I had to work pretty hard to stop snacking on the batter! These are the perfect treat for Fiesta Friday! Happy eating!

Super Food Ideas Magazine

Gluten-Free Quinoa Anzac Biscuits

Makes: 24-26, Prep: 20 mins, Cook: 10-15 mins

Ingredients

  • 125g butter, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons golden syrup
  • 1 cup gluten-free self-raising flour
  • 1 cup quinoa flakes
  • 1 cup desiccated coconut
  • 1/2 cup flaked almonds
  • 3/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons hot water

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180°C/160°C fan-forced. Line 2 baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Place butter and golden syrup in a small saucepan over medium heat. Cook, stirring, for 3 to 4 minutes, or until melted.
  3. Combine flour, quinoa flakes, coconut, almonds and sugar in a large bowl. Add butter mixture and hot water. Stir with a wooden spoon, or your clean fingers, until combined. Set aside for 5 minutes.
  4. Roll level tablespoonfuls of mixture into balls. Place on trays, 4cm apart. Flatten slightly with a fork.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes, swapping trays halfway through cooking, or until golden.
  6. Stand on trays for 5 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool. Serve.
43 thoughts on “Anzac Cookies (g/f)

  1. I also have a friend who can’t have gluten, so I’m planning to make these for her as a late Anzac Day treat. You are right, these biscuits are as quintessentially Anzac Day as the dawn services, parades, and even two up! Thanks for bringing this to Fiesta Friday! 🙂

    Like

  2. Nell- I bookmarked these so I can try them at some point! They sound so wonderful! And I loved reading and learning about ANZAC Day…thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Nell, I love this. What a great post! I’m so glad that you shared the history of Anzac Day with all of us, and our wish for peace and understanding is universal. Hoping that someday we can all live with that.
    What a wonderful way to celebrate Anzac Day, but with Anzac cookies!! They sound absolutely delicious…and I’m so happy to know that you found a gluten free version that you love! I have a friend who has to eat gluten free, so I am going to share this with her too!!
    Thank you so much for bringing these cookies and the history of Anzac Day to Fiesta Friday… it is perfect! ❤

    Like

      1. How could I not like a recipe for a gf ANZAC Biscuit. My son played “Last Post” and “Rouse” at his school’s ANZAC service yesterday. I was so proud of him.

        Like

  4. These look perfect for Fiesta Friday! I like how innovative this is in using quinoa flakes. Quinoa in desserts is new to me, but it sounds and looks quite tasty. Lovely history reminder, too!

    Like

    1. Thank you! And using quinoa was new to me too! I was worried it wouldn’t make a good substitute for the oats, but it really did work. I was surprised at how I couldn’t tell the difference between these and standard anzac biscuits! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

