Cakes · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Flourless Chocolate Irish-Cream Cake (g/f)

IMG_7683

After the success I had with the victoria sandwhich-ish cake, I was bold enough to give another more delicate cake a go for the easter weekend, and the Novice Garderner’s Party. I have collected a handful of good-looking recipes for gluten-free or outright flourless cakes, but this one stood out for me. I did still have some irish cream leftover from making that irish cream cheesecake, and it looked so delicious and rich that I couldn’t go past it. Besides, there’s nothing better than a little bit of chocolate for easter, am I right? So I grabbed some ingredients from the Coles not far from here and went to it. I have changed some of the instructions slightly, however, as I don’t have a baine marie for melting chocolate, and I didn’t want to do it on the stove top due to some…complicated things that have been happening with it lately.

It turns out there’s been a problem with our stove top installation, as each time you use the oven and then try to use the stove top it goes ballistic. But someone will be coming to look at that soon. So I melted my chocolate and butter in the microwave, and I found I had no troubles doing it that way. This cake turned out to be dense, moist, and very, very delicate while warm. But wow – was it rich! I would recommend serving it with ice-cream or cream, as listed in the recipe below. Because it packs a flavour punch! It really had a texture like mousse when it first came out of the oven, and then once chilled it became solid, and the flavours seemed even stronger!

Oh! Some other good news. My good hand-beaters had gone somewhere in the move and have recently re-surfaced. I’m loving using them again! They’re strong and fast, and make whipping and beating and mixing a breeze!

The Gourmet Kitchen Tales’

Flourless Bailey’s Chocolate Cake

Serves: 6-8, Prep: 20 mins, Cook: 25 mins

Ingredients

  • 200g dark chocolate, I used a cheap, home-brand cooking chocolate and it did fine.
  • 80g unsalted butter
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 2 tbsp irish cream liqueur
  • 4 eggs, separated
  • 1 pinch sea salt flakes
  • (Plus extra butter and some form of gluten-free flour for dusting your cake tin)

Method

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 180C, and then grease and dust a 22cm springform cake tin.
  2. Melt the chocolate and butter together in the microwave, or on the stove top, or in a baine-marie. Then add the irish cream and stir to combine.
  3. Add the sugar, then the egg yolks, and stir thoroughly.
  4. In another bowl, beat the egg whites and pinch of sea salt flakes together until stiff peaks form.
  5. Gently fold the egg whites into the chocolate mixture, resisting the urge to over-mix until it’s all one solid colour, etc. You just want the egg whites to be folded in gently.
  6. Pour the batter into the cake tin and smooth out very gently, if necessary. Bake the mix for 25 mins, or until a skewer inserted into the thickest part of the cake comes out clean.
  7. Let the cake cool before attempting to remove it from the tin, and don’t worry – as the cake cools the middle will sink in. This is quite normal. And given how rich this cake is you really don’t need big, thick slices.
  8. Serve with vanilla ice-cream, or with dollop cream.
43 thoughts on “Flourless Chocolate Irish-Cream Cake (g/f)

  1. I love that dense chocolate-y-ness that a flourless chocolate cake gives you. Adding a bit of Irish Cream is a great touch. Hope you get your oven fixed soon, though it doesn’t look like it’s affected your baking in the slightest. 🙂

    Like

  2. I hope your stove/oven is fixed soon! My oven has had problems since Christmas and still needs to get fixed, ah well.. The cake looks so, so decadent, I would love some with ice cream! 🙂

    Like

  3. This cake looks so perfect, Nell! I haven’t made a flourless cake yet. The Irish cream in this one makes it a very promising candidate to be my first one 🙂 Thank you for the recipe & the wonderful description!

    Like

  4. Oh Nell…This was worth the wait indeed! Your “teasing” lived up to my expectations and then some:) Yum-arooni! It’s the perfect Fiesta Friday offering! Would it be too greedy to have one slice now and hide one for later?

    Like

  5. Hi Nell, what a beautiful cake! All my favorite things (chocolate and alcohol) minus the flour. My stove and oven does the same thing you are experiencing! It’s very frustrating; we have a very old stove and the only way to have the range on while the oven is on is to keep the heat on the lowest setting. Nothing we can do about it apparently. I wish you much luck with getting it fixed, so you can make more delicious cakes like these for the next party! Happy Fiesta Friday!

    Like

    1. Thank you! And I’m sorry to hear that you’re having the same troubles! We’re hoping it’s a simple matter of better insulation, so the heat from the oven doesn’t upset the stove top. Happy fiesta friday to you too! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

