Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free · Misc.

Tofu Pad See Ew (g/f)

IMG_7656

Pad See Ew has to be my one of my favourite dishes to order at Thai restaurants. When we do actually go out to restaurants that is! It’s a simple dish, usually containing nothing but noodles, beef, egg and a vegetable like Gai Lan or Bok Choy. But it is always wholesome and delicious, and I have never eaten a Pad See Ew that I didn’t like. So it made sense for me to give it a go at home. However, one problem I have is with finding the right sort of meat. I’ve had extensive dental work done over the years, and it’s made it difficult for me to chew tough meat. Sadly most of the most affordable cuts are often quite tough to me, and after agonising whether or not I would be able to get the soft meat I needed for a decent price, I discovered this recipe for Pad See Ew using hard tofu instead of meat. I was delighted! Hard tofu is one of my favourite things to add to asian dishes, even when the food already has beef or some other form of meat in it.

Well, it turned out to be an excellent idea to give this recipe a go. It was so simple and cheap to make. The perfect thing to bring to the Novice Gardener’s Party this fiesta friday. Not to mention that I ended up with enough leftovers to cover my dinner even after having an extra-large helping for lunch! Yum! And while I was munching on my lunch, I also decided to do some browsing to find more gluten-free places in my city. It’s something I’d been meaning to do for ages, but have only really just started doing now. I’ve eaten at one of these places for brunch with some friends, and wow – it was good! So I’m keen on finding even more. But in the meantime, I think I may go have another helping for Pad See Ew!

Adapted from Lucy Nunes’

Vegetarian Pad See Ew

Serves: 4, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 15-20 mins

Ingredients

  • 300g firm/hard tofu (ensure it’s gluten free)
  • 300g pad thai rice noodles
  • 2 tbsp gluten-free cornflour
  • 1/3 cup peanut oil
  • 1 bunch gai lan, chopped and the stems halved
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 4 tbsp dark soy sauce (g/f)
  • 4 tbsp light soy sauce (g/f)
  • 4 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten

Method

  1. Place tofu on a plate lined with paper tower, and leave to drain while you prepare the other ingredients. This means lightly beating the eggs, preparing the gai lan, and making the sauce.
  2. To make the sauce, combine the sugar, garlic and soy sauces in a bowl and set aside.
  3. Prepare noodles as per packet instructions, then drain and set aside
  4. Chop the tofu into about sixteen little cubes, and pat them all dry.
  5. Place cornflour in a large shallow dish. Season with salt and pepper. Heat oil in a wok over high heat. Toss tofu in cornflour until coated and shake off the excess. Shallow-fry the tofu for 3 to 4 minutes or until golden and crisp all over. Then remove the tofu with a slotted spoon and let them drain on paper towel.
  6. Discard the oil.
  7. Heat wok over medium-high heat. Add the gai lan stems and stir-fry for 2 minutes or until tender. Add the leaves and stir-fry for 1 minute or until wilted. Return tofu to wok with noodles and sauce and stir-fry until hot.
  8. Make a well in centre of noodles and add the egg. Cook for 2 minutes or until the egg starts to set. Stir the bits of cooked egg through the dish, and then serve.
39 thoughts on “Tofu Pad See Ew (g/f)

  1. I tend to go for the pad thai. I’m not sure I’ve actually had pad see ew, which is preposterous. My college roommate was from Thailand. How could she not introduce me to this? Thank goodness I now have this recipe. Thanks, Nell! 🙂

    Like

  2. Like you, Nell, I love pad sew ew. In fact, I’ll take any kind of pad dish. They’re all so good. I’ve never thought to make one at home, though. Reading through your recipe, I can see that this is not a difficult dish to prepare. Best of all, I’ve got most of the ingredients. This I have to try. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

    Like

  3. Hi Nell, this plate looks fantastic. I am a huge Thai food fan and almost always order pad see ew too, and almost always with tofu, not meat. I actually prefer the fried tofu version as it lets the sauce of the noodles do all the talking. Great dish to share at a party!

    Like

  4. Pad se Ew is my husband’s go-to Thai dish. I have tried several recipes to make it at home- and now make a crazy combination of several recipes. It tastes good and we enjoy it, but it is different than what he receives in a restaurant. I have finally tracked down wide rice noodles at an Asian grocery near my house… they come in 3 times a week from NYC! 🙂 I will have to try your sauce on them- Thank you!!

    Like

  5. Looks delicious… one of my favorites too! I’ve only had it with beef but tofu looks to be a worthy substitute. Thanks for sharing your recipe Nell!

    Like

Leave a Reply

