Cupcakes and Muffins · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Vanilla Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing (g/f)

IMG_7597

I decided that this time for The Novice Gardener’s Party that I would bring along some cupcakes! I was very good last time and brought along something savoury. But making sweets and things still remains my passion, as you can no doubt tell from the content of my last post. Not to mention I’m having a blast trying all sorts of different sweet recipes in our new oven. And when it came to picking this one I realised that I hadn’t made a simple vanilla cupcake in such a long time, and wanted to rectify that. You can’t forget the basic flavours! They may be simple, but they can still sometimes pack a punch!

This recipe turned out to be quite straightforward, although I did learn with the first batch that you do need to resist the urge to add extra liquid even if the mixture looks dry. I fixed that with the second batch, and they were beautiful and rounded on the top. Although the first batch still tasted just fine, and had a soft texture that made me want to keep taste-testing them! You know, for quality control purposes. I then decided that I didn’t want to do regular vanilla icing as that to me seemed too plain, and these sweet little cupcakes were the perfect base for a slightly more flavoursome topping. And as I had some cream cheese left lying around in the fridge, I made up some cream cheese icing to finish these cuties off.

The verdict? We find the defendant yummy! These cupcakes are even dad-approved!

The Gluten-Free Cookbook’s

Vanilla Cupcakes

with a variation of

Cathie Lonnie & Lucy Nunes’

Cream Cheese Frosting

Makes: 12-14 cupcakes, Prep: 25-30 mins, Cook: 18-20 mins

Cupcake Ingredients

  • 115g unsalted butter, softened
  • 115g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 115g gluten-free self-raising flour
  • 3 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • OPTIONAL: a few drops of yellow food colouring.

Icing Ingredients

  • 140g cream cheese, softened, or to taste
  • 60g butter, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1.5 cups gluten-free icing sugar

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180C/150-160C fan-forced, and fill a 12 hole cupcake tray with patty pans.
  2. In a large bowl, combine and the butter and sugar and mix until light, pale and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well between additions. But when adding the second egg, add 1-2 tbsp of the flour as well, as this will prevent the mix from curdling.
  3. Add the remaining flour, milk, and vanilla, and food colouring if using, and whisk until combined.
  4. Divide the mix between the patty pans, filling each about 3/4 full, and then bake them for 18-20 mins, or until lightly golden on top and a skewer inserted into their centres comes out clean.
  5. Leave them to cool for 5 mins in the tin, before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely.
  6. Meanwhile, prepare the icing. Place the cream cheese, butter and vanilla into a bowl and beat until pale and combined, then slowly beat in the icing sugar.
  7. Pipe the icing mixture onto the cooled cupcakes, and serve.
35 thoughts on “Vanilla Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing (g/f)

  1. The variety and quality of GF baked goods available today is just incredible. These that you made have to be good if they carry the DSoA, the Dad Seal of Approval. 🙂

    Like

  2. These are really cute.

    I love vanilla too, it has such a teasing, elusive flavour. I think cream cheese frosting is an American thing. I only came across it recently but have become a convert. It is so much richer than sugar frosting. Defo gonna try these.

    Like

    1. 😀 I’m so glad to hear that, and thank you! But I get what you mean. The only other place I tend to encounter cream cheese icing is on carrot cake. But I was glad I tried it, it really mixed well with the vanilla. 🙂

      Like

  3. Another great and enticing recipe. Thank you for adding to my collection of gluten free recipes. School holidays start today for my son, so we will have more opportunities for taste testing of new recipes. I have a few of your recipes backing up. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

