Dairy-Free · Donuts · Gluten-Free

Gingerbread Donuts (g/f and optional d/f)

IMG_7575

Although I really wanted to make some friands, I couldn’t find my friand pan in the chaos that is our kitchen at the moment! I mounted a house-wide search, and have since come to the conclusion that someone has moved the tin and forgotten to tell me. But rather than get frustrated, I realised that this was a superb opportunity to test out another gluten-free donut recipe! I pulled out my pans and looked at the recipes I had bookmarked, and decided to give the Urban Poser’s Gingerbread Donuts a go. Those cute little donuts looked so flavoursome and fun, so I wanted to give them a go. Besides which I love gingerbread, and I love the spices that go into it as well.

And despite my accidentally all but upending the container of golden syrup into the mix, these turned out to be utterly delicious, and not overly moist. These were very popular when mum took them to work, and even I was munching on one while coating the others. It was quite fun to try a different flavour of donut from the more traditional kinds, and I hope that you guys enjoy these as a midweek treat as well!

Adapted from The Urban Poser’s

Sugared Gingerbread Cake Donuts

Yield: 11-12 regular sized donuts, Prep: 20 mins, Cook: 15 mins

Ingredients

  • 2 cups blanched almond meal
  • 1 large pinch sea-salt flakes
  •  1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 tsp ground ginger (or to taste)
  • 2 tsp ground cinnamon (or to taste)
  • 1 tsp mixed spice (or to taste)
  • 3 large eggs, separated
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil (I used butter, because I had no coconut oil)
  • 3 tbsp  honey
  • 3 tbsp golden syrup
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Sugar-Coating Ingredients 

  • 1 tbsp butter, melted or 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 cup coconut palm sugar/maple sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Method

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 180C/160C fan-forced, and grease two six-hole donut pans well.
  2. In a bowl, combine all the dry ingredients. Then in another bowl mix together the egg yokes, coconut oil/butter, golden syrup and vanilla until just combined.
  3. NOTE: If using coconut oil, the eggs MUST be at room temperature. If not the cold eggs will cause the coconut oil to harden, and make things difficult.
  4. Add this wet mix to the dry mix and combine.
  5. In a small bowl, beat the eggs white just until soft peaks form. Gently folds the egg whites into the batter until no egg whites remains visible.
  6. Spoon the batter into your donut pans, filling each hole about ½-¾ full. Bake them for 15 mins, or until firm to the touch and a skewer inserted into them comes out clean.
  7. Allow to cool for 5 mins in the pans before turning out onto a wire rack to cool completely.
  8. Once the donuts are cool, brush them with the butter/melted coconut oil and dip them in the sugar mixture before serving.
12 thoughts on “Gingerbread Donuts (g/f and optional d/f)

    1. Thank you so much! 😀 And it’s a cup of tea, which i did drink after I took the photo – yum! I don’t drink coffee. I find it’s flavour overpowering if it’s not mixed into say a biscuit, or ice-cream, or something like that. It’s strange, I know, to be able to eat coffee but not drink it. But there it is! :3

      Like

  1. I read your first sentence as “Although I wanted to make some friends, I couldn’t find my friend pan…” I clearly had to start over from the beginning. Hah! But, these look amazing!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

