Biscuits · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Chocolate Chip Cookies (g/f)

IMG_7565

I swear that I don’t live on a diet of biscuits, muffins and general baked goods! I know that it looks like that, given that all I seem to bring to the Novice Gardener’s Party are sweets. But rest assured – I do still eat savoury food! Sadly most of it has either been takeaway or slap-dash dinners, as I’m going back and forth between houses so much I don’t have time for much else.

I’m looking after my boyfriend’s gorgeous cat at the moment, as Mr. P is away in San Francisco at the moment for the game developers conference, having an amazing time. Scout is a big old ginger tom, and we think he must be part Maine Coone. He is a big boy, but also a big sook. For the most part he curls up on the couch next to me after getting fed and brushed, and tries to chew my laptop cord when he thinks he’s being ignored, cheeky bugger. Unfortunately I’m not able to upload a photo of him without checking with Mr. P first, but I may be able to get a snapshot up here in a later post~

The Gluten-Free Cookbook’s

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Makes: 15-20, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 15 mins

Ingredients

  • 115g unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence/extract
  • 175g caster sugar
  • 175g gluten-free self-raising flour (I used the HAS NO brand)
  • 60g rice flour
  • At least 85g chocolate chips, or chocolate chunks.

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 190C, and line two baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Combine the butter and caster sugar, and beat until pale and fluffy. Then add in the egg and vanilla essence and beat until combined.
  3. Sift in the flours, accidentally on purpose upend your bag of chocolate chips, adding “far too many”, and then stir the mix with a wooden spoon until combined.
  4. Scoop out tablespoons of the mixture, and place them well apart on the trays, as these are the type of chocolate chip cookies that spread. Flatten them a little with your fingers.
  5. Bake the cookies for 15 mins, or until golden brown around the edges. Let them cool on the trays for about 2 mins, then transfer them to a wire rack to cool completely (or at least until cool enough to eat). I find this is easier done with a thin edged metal spatula or a palette knife than with bare hands.
  6. Serve.
28 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies (g/f)

  1. Oh, we love cookies! Surely nobody will turn down a chocolate chip cookie, or two. So, you’re doing fine, hon! Keep the sweets coming. But if you want to bring savory food, that’s fine, too. Even your quote was inspiring. 🙂

    Like

  2. Yum-O! We’ve both got cookies on the brain this week, Nell. Great minds think alike! 🙂 These chocolate chip cookies look perfect and gluten free?–a must try for me!

    Like

  3. Hello!

    Your blog has caught our attention because of the quality of the recipes. We would be delighted if you would join us at http://www.mytaste,com/ so that we could link to it.

    myTaste.com is a search engine that compiles the best American cooking sites and blogs from the Internet. Several hundred blogs are already enrolled here and are taking benefit from the traffic we are sending to their sites.

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards,
    Elin
    MyTaste.com

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! :3 I’m so very flattered to be asked to join up! :3 But unfortunately I’m not an American blogger, I’m an Australian one. So I don’t feel it would be right for me to sign up, and steal a spot from a very deserving American. But again, thank you so much for thinking of me, and I hope you have an amazing day! 😀

      Like

  4. Chocolate chip- my favorite! These look scrumptious. I’m learning so much about gluten free from you and looks as if this may be a great place for me to start! I’m hoping you receive permission to share a photo of Scout, he sounds like he’s quite a character 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

