Biscuits · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Viennese-ish Biscuits (g/f)

IMG_7528

A few times now mum’s boss has come around to drop off her son, who sometimes helps us around the house, as we’re still in the process of moving and doing this and that. Ugh. However, on a few of these occasions I didn’t realise she was coming, and didn’t have any little treats prepared. I decided to rectify this, provide a treat for The Novice Gardener’s party and at the same time to bake something for dad to take to a morning tea at work, and picked a recipe from The Gluten-Free Cookbook. I’m very familiar with viennese biscuits, but this is my first time baking them, not to mention baking a gluten-free version. I was delighted at how easily these went together, but I had more than a little trouble when it came to piping the dough. So what I did was make little balls of these instead, pop them on the tray and flatten them slightly, which more than doubled the yield of this recipe. I suspect my particular piping bag was the cause of all the trouble though, so I’ll put up the recipe as it was meant to be done.

IMG_7510

This did mean that I unfortunately didn’t have enough chocolate for dipping all of them. This didn’t bother me too much, as the first batch I made was too delicate for me to feel comfortable dipping them anyway. I had to experiment with cooking times due to their change in size and shape from the original recipe, and I think I nailed it the second time around. And the result was these lovely light, delicate biscuits, so it wasn’t too much of a worry. So instead of dipping them in chocolate, I turned them into little jam kisses, as you can see above. The combination of these super delicate biscuits with the raspberry vanilla jam given to us by our friend was superb, and reminded me a lot of the thumbprint cookies I made before. Except that the viennese biscuits have a much fluffier texture. I boxed these up, ready to go to my mum’s boss for morning tea the next day, and set to working on the next batch. These I cooked for even longer, at a higher temperature, and were able to dip in chocolate and then pack up for dad.

The Gluten-Free Cookbook’s

Viennese Biscuits

Makes: 9, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 15-20 mins

Ingredients

  • 125g unsalted butter, softened
  • 60g icing sugar (gluten free)
  • 115g gluten-free plain flour, sifted
  • 30g non-wheaten cornflour, sifted
  • 2 tsp xantham gum, sifted
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder (gluten-free), sifted
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 115g dark chocolate, melted, for dipping

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 190C, and line two baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Beat the butter and the icing sugar together until pale and fluffy, then sift over the flours, the xantham gum and the baking powder. Add the vanilla, and then beat the mixture again until it forms a soft dough.
  3. Spoon the dough into a piping bag, and then use the piping bag to pipe 9 zizag biscuits onto the trays. Each biscuit should look sort of like a squashed letter Z. But remember to space these well apart as they spread out while baking.
  4. Bake these biscuits for 15-20 minutes, or until pale golden brown. Then leave them to cool on the tray for a few minutes before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely.
  5. Once cool, dip one half of each biscuit into the melted chocolate and then leave them to set on some baking paper.
21 thoughts on “Viennese-ish Biscuits (g/f)

  1. You are so sweet, Nell! Baking treats for your guests and dad and us @Fiesta Friday, how thoughtful! I love these cookies, dipped in chocolate or sandwiched with jam in the middle. Both sound really yummy, perfect for an afternoon or morning tea! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

