Fiesta Friday · Food With Friends · Ice-Cream and Frozen Treats

No Churn Coffee and Brandy Ice-Cream

IMG_7504

As the heat is finally dying down, it seemed like this was the last best chance I would get to bring some ice-cream to the Novice Gardener’s Party. But when I first made this ice-cream  the heat was downright unbearable. I’d dreaded going outside to hang up the washing, because a hot, dry wind would come straight down our street and wallop anyone bold enough to step outside during the day. And when I was invited to a dinner and get-together on a particularly hot day at a friend’s house, I decided to bring this ice-cream as dessert. It was a hit, despite it’s richness, so I definitely wanted to bring it to this fiesta friday! But don’t let the simplicity of this recipe fool you, this no churn ice-cream packs a flavour punch!

I’m not a big fan of coffee, but even I kept finding myself taking small scoops of the mixture from the beaters. And it didn’t give me a tummy ache, or cause swelling in my legs! Going off gluten really has made my lactose intolerance less of a problem, much to my delight! It’s an intense, rich, coffee and brandy combo that gives this ice-cream it’s oomph. But although I ended up doubling the basic base of cream and condensed milk, I have kept the coffee and brandy to a minimum. This is because the espresso powder I used is strong enough that it doesn’t get lost in the sweet cream and condensed milk flavours, and because the brandy I’m using is also intense. But combined with the coffee it becomes a strong, smooth, highly addictive flavour. Not to mention that the Brandy helps keep the ice-cream soft, which is an added bonus.

Adapted from the Pretty Blog’s

No Churn Coffee Brandy Ice-Cream

Serves: 8-10, Prep: 10 mins, Chill: 6hrs/overnight

Ingredients

  • 600ml double thick cream
  • 2 x 395g cans of sweetened condensed milk
  • Up to 3 tbsp espresso powder (or to taste, and I used the nescafe brand espresso powder)
  • Up to 2.5 tbsp of brandy (or to taste)

Method

  1. Put all the ingredients in a large mixing bowl, and combine. You want to whip the mixture until it’s thick, like whipped cream, but not stiff or solid. And don’t worry if all the coffee granules aren’t one hundred percent disintegrated and mixed in. I had a few sprinkles leftover.
  2. Tip the mixture into a plastic container, or a large loaf tin lined with cling wrap, then cover it with cling wrap and freeze for a minimum of 6hrs, or overnight. This mixture will remain semi-soft because of the alcohol.
  3. Serve straight after removing from the freezer, as it will remain quite soft due to the alcohol.
38 thoughts on “No Churn Coffee and Brandy Ice-Cream

  1. Oooh, nice! I too have some alcohol-laced coffee ice cream sitting in my freezer, but my alcohol of choice was rum and I used clotted cream, too. So good and so simple (it was my first attempt at using condensed milk in an ice cream, a great discovery)

    Like

  2. Really, no churning required? I’ll have to give this a go as soon as it warms up here, sounds just about perfect. Coffee-flavored ice cream is my fave, and adding brandy to it will kick it up a notch! Awesome, Nell! 🙂

    Like

    1. :3 Thank you! And I know what you mean, some ice-creams I’ve made in the past have been seriously time consuming, especially when you need to chill the custard base, etc. But this one really is quite simple. :3

      Like

  3. This sounds (and looks) scrumptious! Heat dying down?!?! I’m so jealous you’ve been enjoying summer where you are! Here I am about to do a “happy dance” as our temperature is finally going to get above freezing next week! The perfect chance for me to enjoy this ice cream I think! Thanks for sharing:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

