Biscuits · Fiesta Friday · Gluten-Free

Thumbprint Cookies (g/f) for Fiesta Friday

IMG_7475

I was delighted at how popular the apple cider donuts were, to the point that I was even showing one of our guests where to order the donut pans from and sharing the recipe around. So I decided to try and bake more donuts when mum had another guest over recently. Unfortunately this next recipe turned out not to be so good, so I scrapped it, and went for something a little that seemed more trustworthy. Since these cookies were such a hit I decided that it would be great to bring them to the Novice Gardener’s party this fiesta friday!

Super Food Ideas magazine has never let me down in terms of quick, cheap and delicious food, and their gluten-free, allergy friendly recipes are always a big hit. I’d been meaning to try their gluten-free thumbprint cookies for awhile, but never got around to it. So naturally I thought – why not, especially since a friend of ours gifted us with an enormous jar of homemade raspberry and vanilla jam recently.

Well, these cookies were so straightforward and delicious that I wonder why it took me so long to make them! I popped the mixture into my stand mixer to make it even quicker, but even with a hand mixer this recipe would still be a snap. And the result is delicious, soft, sweet cookies!

Super Food Ideas Magazine’s

Gluten-Free Thumbprint Cookies

Makes: 18-21 cookies, Prep: 30-35 mins, Cook: 12-15 mins

Ingredients

  • 150g unsalted butter, softened at room temperature, chopped
  • 1/3 cup caster sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1.5 cups gluten-free plain flour
  • 1.5-2 tbsp Raspberry/Berry jam
  • Icing sugar, for dusting

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C/160C fan-forced, and line two baking trays with baking paper.
  2. Beat together the butter, sugar and vanilla until light and fluffy, and then add the flour and beat to combine.
  3. Take generous teaspoon scoops of the dough and roll them into balls, placing them about 4cm apart on the trays. Flatten them slightly with the palm of your hand. The cookies will be soft, so be gentle.
  4. Using the end of a wooden spoon, create small indentations in the centre of each cookie, being careful not to push the end of the spoon right through.
  5. Fill each whole with some jam, and then smooth the sides of the cookies (if you want to), to erase the cracks.
  6. Bake the cookies, swapping them halfway through cooking, for 12-15 mins, or until lightly golden.
  7. Allow the cookies to cool on their trays for 15 or so minutes before transferring them to a wire rack to cool completely, and then dust with icing sugar before serving.
39 thoughts on “Thumbprint Cookies (g/f) for Fiesta Friday

    1. Thank you! :3 And I have to admit that when I first started using it I did find it challenging. But after a little time getting used to it, and getting used to it’s requirements in various recipes, I found it really fun. But I think I’m lucky, in that the gluten-free flour blends I buy are very good, and I’ve never had a complaint about their texture or taste. So luckily I haven’t had to make and test my own gluten-free flour from scratch, although I know some people actually prefer to do that. :3

      Like

Leave a Reply

