Cupcakes and Muffins · Gluten-Free

Chocolate Cupcakes (g/f)

IMG_7200

Chocolate rules the world come Valentines Day, and although it’s not quite Valentine’s Day yet, I thought I would go ahead and put up a chocolate themed post in honour of this occasion. After all, this is one well-known and complex event. Some people love it, others dread it, and some are particularly bitter about. I know for a fact that a large portion of my friends in high school and college used to call it Singles Awareness Day, and perhaps some of them still do. But for those of you who, like me, have someone special in your life, this is a lovey-dovey occasion. It’s also an occasion for chocolate.

IMG_7212

These chocolate cupcakes are too good, and were light and deliciously fluffy although I had to tweak the recipe several times to get it to work. This is because, up until this point, I didn’t realise that we still had our old scale that measures both in ounces and in grams. I thought we had thrown it out during our move. So I struggled with the conversions for the ingredients, hence the tweaking. But now that I do know about the scale I’m sure that if I were to make these again using ounces rather than converting things to grams I would do much better. Although, if you do find that it’s too wet a mixture, which was my problem, just keep stirring in a few tbsp of gluten-free plain flour until the mix thickens.

So with all that in mind I’m putting up the original recipe, and I seriously encourage you to check out the original post as well. It has some delicious looking chocolate moustaches in it~

Lia’s

Gluten-Free Chocolate Cupcakes

Makes: 12-18 cupcakes, Prep: 20 mins, Cook: 18-20 mins

Ingredients

  • 3 oz bittersweet/dark chocolate chips
  • 1 oz dutch-processed cocoa powder
  • 6.5 oz water, boiling
  • 1 tbsp espresso powder (optional, but does enhance the chocolate flavour)
  • 4.50 oz gluten-free all-purpose flour (the author has a link to her own personal blend recipe)
  • 5.25 oz white sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt (I used a generous pinch of sea-salt flakes)
  • 1/2 tsp bi-carb/baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder (gluten free)
  • 3 oz neutral flavoured oil (e.g. vegetable oil)
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract/vanilla bean paste

Method

  1. Pre-heat your oven to about 175C and prepare your cupcake trays with patty pans.
  2. In a bowl, combine the cocoa powder, chocolate chips, espresso powder – if using, and the water. Whisk until smooth and combined, and no lumps remain. Set aside.
  3. in another bowl, combine the flour, sugar, salt, baking powder and bi-carb soda, and whisk to combine.
  4. Then in a two-cup capacity bowl or jug, combine the oil, eggs, cider vinegar and the vanilla and again, whisk to combine.
  5. Add half the flour mixture and half the egg mixture to the chocolate mix, which should be a little cooler now, and combine. I had no troubles doing this with a hand-whisk, but feel free to use electric beaters. Scrapes down the sides of the bowl when necessary.
  6. Add the remaining flour and egg mixtures and whisk together again.
  7. Then fill each patty pan about 3/4 full with the cupcake mixture, and bake for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick/skewer inserted into their centres comes out clean. leave these delicious treats to cool in the pan before tipping out onto a wire rack to cool completely.
20 thoughts on “Chocolate Cupcakes (g/f)

      1. :3 Then we must have good taste in themes. :3 But – Hm. I’m not exactly sure how it happened. I just went and had a look through the appearance section in the “dashboard” menu to see if I could figure it out, and I think you can create menus in the “menu” sub-heading. But I’m not precisely sure, as I think I first got the side-bar for my categories through tampering with a different theme, and it’s just carried through. 😦 I hope that helps.

        Like

  1. Thanks for sharing, Nell. Any chocolate recipe is appreciated, especially around Valentine’s day. Btw, Nell, I started a blog party called Fiesta Friday. Would love for you to join in the fun. And it has been fun! But it’ll be more fun with you in it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

