Cakes · Gluten-Free

Gluten-Free Scones!

IMG_7486

HAPPY AUSTRALIA DAY! Or rather, happy belated Australia day! I was so busy on the actual date that I wasn’t able to put this up, but it was a good kind of busy, so I’m content. I woke up early to put the finishing touches on some snacks I was bringing to a get together at a friend’s place, including getting dollop cream for the scones you see above, and making sure the cinnamon sugar had stuck to the apple cider donuts, the recipe for which will be coming soon.

To be honest, I didn’t expect the scones to go over as well as they did. As I know some people find scones quite bland, and some people don’t even know that scones are as classic an Australian treat as are pavlova and lamingtons. But these were a huge success, with people happily wolfing them down. So I’m extremely glad that I decided to pick scones, when it came to doing an Australia Day treat.

It also seemed appropriate to do this recipe, because it comes from the Australian Women’s Weekly. For those who aren’t familiar with this magazine, it’s an extremely iconic Australian magazine, which has also got its own line of cookbooks for all occasions (including allergy friendly cooking for kids, lunch-box snacks, etc). And I know their recipes as being tried and tested, and always a big hit. So I couldn’t say no to doing their gluten free scone recipe, not when it seemed so straightforward and delicious!

Because, for me, this was an occasion about food and family and friends. I’m not the most patriotic of people, I know. I don’t attach flags to my car over this long weekend, and I don’t wear Australian themed clothes either. But what I do do, is reflect. I get together with the people I care about, eat good food, and reflect on the things that make me glad I was born here. I also take a moment to reflect on the people that have built this country, and pay my respects to the indigenous population of Australia to. So, believe you me, there are no shortage of good, and even respectful, things to think about!

The Australian Women’s Weekly

Gluten-Free Scones

Makes: 10, Prep: 25-30 mins, Cook: 15 mins

Ingredients

  • 2.5 cup gluten-free self raising flour
  • 2 tsp xantham gum
  • 1 tsp bi-carb soda
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1/4 cup gluten-free icing sugar
  • 30g unsalted butter, chopped
  • 1 egg, beaten lightly
  • Approx. 330ml buttermilk

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 240C, and then prepare a baking tray with baking paper.
  2. Sift all the dry ingredients into a bowl, and rub in the butter. Add the egg, and then add the buttermilk in small spurts, until the mixture combines into a sticky dough. (I didn’t end up needing the full 330ml of buttermilk).
  3. Turn the dough onto a floured board, and knead lightly until smooth.
  4. Pat the dough out to 2cm thickness, and then either using a scone cutter, or a regular 5.5cm cutter/cup, cut out the rounds.
  5. Place the rounds on the tray, making sure each is almost touching, and then leave them to stand for 5 mins.
  6. Brush their tops with extra buttermilk, and then bake in the oven for 15 mins, or until browned and cooked through.
  7. Let cool until not too hot to handle, and then cut the scones open and serve with jam and whipped cream.
8 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Scones!

Leave a Reply

