Pork

Hoisin Pork and Broccolini Stir-Fry

IMG_7433

One of the things I like best about this move, is that we’re now much closer to one of the largest Salvo stores I know. I like Salvos because everything there has been donated, and it’s not-for-profit so all the proceeds go to their charity. So I know that when I spend even a few dollars there, it goes to people in need. I also like Salvos because of the amazing things you can find there, from magazines, to homewares and clothes. Second-hand food magazines are a delight, and don’t make my purse ache. So…I might have gone a little overboard and picked up quite a few issues of some of my favourite food magazines. But I have found some great gluten-free and dairy-free recipes to try as a result, as well as some great mains.

This stir-fry is one such recipe, and is extremely simple. As in chop, marinate, cook, simple. And given that the whole family is still so ragged from the move, I’m sticking to recipes like this one, which give us a good serving of vegetables and meat without the fuss. Besides, I’m a big fan of stir-fries. I like the noodles, the sauces, the quick-cooked vegetables and the meat. It was delicious! The smells, the inclusion of mushrooms, and the taste, were all that little bit unique. So I’m glad I picked up this magazine, and I’m glad I decided to give this recipe a go.

Bon Appetit!

P.S. As requested here is a picture of my cat. It’s an older photo, as unfortunately Rosie is a little camera shy, but it’s my favourite photo of her. I took it at our old house, when she was snoozing in the sun below my bedroom window.

IMG_4754

Super Food Ideas’ Magazine’s

Hoisin Pork and Broccolini Stir-Fry

Serves: 4, Prep: 5-10 mins, Marinate: 30 mins, Cook: 15-20 mins

Marinade Ingredients

  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1/4 hoisin sauce
  • 2 tbsp chinese cooking wine
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp chinese five-spice powder

Ingredients

  • 500g pork fillets, thinly sliced (or the cheaper option is pork stir-fry strips)
  • Peanut oil, for cooking
  • 1 bunch broccolini, trimmed and halved (regular broccoli is a cheaper option)
  • 4 shallots, cut into 3cm lengths
  • 1 red capsicum, diced
  • 100g mushrooms (button, etc), sliced
  • 200g rice noodle (I used gluten-free, wok-ready noodles)

Method

  1. Make up the marinade, slice the meat and then toss it in the marinade to coat. Cover and refrigerate for 30 mins.
  2. Make up the noodles as per the packet’s instructions.
  3. Then remove the pork with a slotted spoon to reserve the juices.
  4. Heat a wok over medium-high heat, add some peanut oil and swirl to coat. Stir-fry the pork in batches, for 2-3 minutes each, or until browned. Transfer to a plate or bowl with the slotted spoon.
  5. Heat a little more oil in the wok, swirl to coat. Then add the vegetables and stir-fry for 2-3 mins, or until the broccolini has become tender.
  6. Return the pork and pork juices to the wok, and stir. Then add any remaining marinade (I only had a little), and the noodles, and stir-fry for a further 1-2 minutes, ensuring the noodles are well coated in the sauce.
  7. Serve.
16 thoughts on “Hoisin Pork and Broccolini Stir-Fry

  1. This looks so delicious… I just bought a pork tenderloin yesterday… I had different plans, but I think you just changed my mind..

    Second hand magazines are the best! I had a doctors appointment yesterday, and spent the “sitting in the small room waiting for the doctor to come in” time reading four-year old magazines. I would have been ok if he took another half hour to come in… it would have been nice to have a cup of tea while I read the old magazines and waited though!!
    Lovely post. Beautiful kitty. 🙂

    Like

    1. :3 Thank you, and I’m glad to hear I could persuade you to try this recipe! :3 And I know what you mean. Once I have some old food magazines, all I want to do is curl up with a hot drink and look through them at my leisure. :3

      Like

Leave a Reply

