Misc. Desserts

Basic Chocolate Truffles

IMG_7368

I must be insane to attempt to make chocolate truffles when it’s so warm here!  But as people had seem so keen on the idea of them, I decided to go ahead and do them anyway. However, I want to mention that I had to use my hands to roll each truffle, as my scoop couldn’t handle the ganache (being a cheap, plastic-y ice-cream scoop and all), so people who do use scoops are bound to get more evenly sized and rounder truffles.

One thing I will suggest is constantly cooling your hands while rolling the truffles, particularly if you have hot hands like me, and it’s hot where you’re making these. This is because the truffles will start to melt right away on contact with hot hands, and will be much, much harder to roll. I often cheated at cooling mine by giving my hands a quick rinse and dry, and then grabbing something frozen from the freezer and holding it for a little while. I found that really helped.

One other thing I want to say is that this recipe is super simple, and according to the people who have eaten theirs now, delicious. Mum was the official taste tester, and she loved them. So as an early-because-I’m-moving-christmas-present, these were a big success!

Claire Brookman’s

Basic Truffles

Makes: 13-14 truffles, Prep: 5-10 mins, Chill: 2-4 hours, or until firm

Ingredients

  • 200g dark chocolate, chopped (I used nestle dark cooking chocolate)
  • 1/3 cup thickened cream
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder/other toppings, e.g chocolate sprinkles, shredded coconut, nuts, etc

Method

  1. Combine chocolate and cream in a heatproof, microwave safe bowl. Microwave for short intervals (I only used bursts of 20-30 seconds), stirring between each, until the mixture is melted and smooth.
  2. Stir in the vanilla, then cover and refrigerate the mix for 2-4 hours, or until firm.
  3. Line a tray with baking paper.
  4. At this stage you can either use a melon baller, an ice-cream scoop or teaspoons to remove the mixture. If not using an implement that creates rounded balls, you will have to roll the balls yourself one at a time before rolling them in the coating. If hand-rolling, you should be prepared to stop every now and again and cool your hands when you notice them getting too warm
  5. Sift the cocoa/place the other toppings into a shallow dish. Roll the balls in the toppings to coat and place them on the tray. I did this using a spoon.
  6. Refrigerate until firm.
23 thoughts on “Basic Chocolate Truffles

  1. This is exactly how I used to make my truffles! So yum and easy. They look so pretty in the chocolate sprinkles. I now make them with chocolate and almond butter or creamy pecan butter and vanilla. So rich! I like to roll them in nuts or cocoa or even cinnamon. I need to try sprinkles next time! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

