Dairy-Free · Food With Friends · Gluten-Free · Ice-Cream and Frozen Treats

Strawberry Ice-Cream (d/f, g/f)

IMG_7333

I know, it’s been far too long since I’ve last done a dairy-free, gluten-free ice-cream recipe. I’ve been pretty naughty on that score. But I’m back in business with an ice-cream recipe made at the request of a new friend, Miss C. Miss C. shares much of the same allergy troubles as me, except for the fact that my reactions are less severe, and she is also allergic to refined sugars. She’s limited to things like coconut palm sugars, honey, maple syrup – etc. I’m still reeling over the fact that I even have a friend with allergies like me, especially one with such a great sense of humour. So here’s hoping that miss C. and I can become good friends, because we get along so well, and it’s nice to be able to talk about food and this and that with someone who’s experienced what I have.

IMG_7340

The reason that miss C. requested some dairy-free, gluten-free, refined sugar free ice-cream is because Christmas is coming up, and she’s getting me a present I’m really looking forward to! So naturally I wanted to give her something she would really like as well, and she suggested making some ice-cream that would be kind to her allergies. I asked what flavours she liked, and she said flavours like raspberry and strawberry. But after having tried another person’s recipe, and only getting semi-decent results, I decided to make my own from scratch. I threw in two punnets of strawberries, added coconut cream to ensure I could get that creamy texture, and then added honey for sweetness and a generous teaspoon full of vanilla bean paste, and lastly, a squeeze of lime juice. The vanilla was a given. I love adding vanilla to things. But the adding of lime juice came about simply because I felt the flavour needed a little tang to counter-balance the sweetness of the strawberries and honey, and I didn’t see lemon as being a good choice. Also, we were out of lemon juice.

IMG_7353

But you might be wondering why I’m giving Miss C. her christmas present early. Well, for one thing – we’re moving house! It’s happening! It’s finally happening! The new house is almost finished being set up, the kitchen is being filled out with appliances, and soon I’ll be baking our christmas lunch/dinner in an all new oven! But as a result, packing and similar hectic happenings have now taken over the house, leaving no room or time for presents closer to christmas. Except, perhaps, for some chocolate treats I’ll be posting up soon.

Strawberry Ice-Cream

Makes: About a quart, Prep: 10 mins, Chill: Several hours

Ingredients

  • at least 500g of strawberries, washed and hulled
  • 1 can full fat coconut cream
  • A dash of lime juice (optional)
  • 3 tbsp honey/maple syrup (less or more, to taste)
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste/2 tsp vanilla extract/essence

Method

  1. Puree the strawberries until no lumps remain, then combine them with the other ingredients and whisk together.
  2. Process the ice-cream mixture according to the instructions of your ice-cream maker.
  3. Either eat now, or pop the mixture into the freezer to firm up a bit more.
  4. NOTE: I put homemade ice-cream in air-tight rectangular containers, and then cover their surfaces with cling-wrap in order to help prevent ice-crystals from forming on the top of the ice-cream.
19 thoughts on “Strawberry Ice-Cream (d/f, g/f)

  1. Lovely! I made a similar one last summer, but I added chia seeds in it to make it smoother. With or without, it’s delicious and very healthy. I also tend to stay away from xantham gum, in fact, I’ve never used any because it doesn’t sound healthy to me. haha

    Like

  2. So no xantham gum? Did it get creamy without it? Was that because of the pectin in the strawberries? I’m having a problem getting that creamy texture when I make ice cream at home in the machine, even though it looks like an expensive machine (my mom’s).

    Like

    1. I don’t often use xantham gum in my homemade ice-creams, as I tend to find that the texture is all right without it. But that could be a personal preference. And if you’re having troubles with the texture, it might have something to do with your base ingredients. can I ask what you’re using?

      Like

      1. Hm. I would recommend at least giving the xantham gum a go then. But I have a few other suggestions as well:

        Traditional ice-cream is made in one of two styles – as far as I know at least, one is the Philadelphia style which is made with milk and cream and no eggs, and the other is the French-style, which has a custard-style base made with milks, cream and eggs. Both of these have a high fat content, but in my experience I find the French-style ice-creams smoother.

        Getting rid of the dairy in your ice-cream means you need to find substitutes that also have plenty of fat. When I first started making dairy-free ice creams I started out using coconut milk, and I found that made the texture quite icy. Swapping to coconut cream made the texture much smoother to me. But if it’s still a no go, what you could try is using only the fat from the coconut cream, although this would be more time consuming and waste a lot more liquid. You can either look at my post on making dairy-free whipped cream here on this blog to get the method, or you can look it up on Google, whichever you’d prefer. But I don’t promise that this will help, as I haven’t tested it myself.

        What you could also do is find some dairy-free recipes which use eggs/egg yolks in their mix, and which do still make the French-style custard base. I’ve tried this once or twice before, and I found the texture quite pleasant. But again, as I’ve only tried it with the one recipe, no promises on whether it would suit you. I just think that xantham gum, and the other suggestions above, would be worth giving a go.

        :3 I hope that helps! :3

        Like

Leave a Reply

