Dairy-Free · Food With Friends · Gluten-Free · Misc.

Raspberry Fizz (g/f, d/f)

IMG_7145

Sometimes you find a recipe and it works out perfectly, other times you have to keep at it and keep at it, until you can make it work. Well, I ran out of time to do that with a white chocolate and raspberry mousse recipe, and that left me with a lot of leftover raspberries. I looked at what I had on hand, raspberries, sugar, water, lemon juice, etc, and it hit me! I could see about making a cordial type recipe! It’s nostalgic for me to be making drinks like this, as I haven’t really even made lemonade or ice-tea since I was a little girl. Dietary restrictions in the house mean that we tend not to bring super sugary things home, so I stopped making them and somehow – forgot about how much fun making homemade cordials and things are. But as this was going to go to a friend’s house, I could make as much raspberry fizz as I wanted, and lucky for me I found a delicious looking recipe that used up all of the raspberries and sugar I had, and produced a delicious raspberry syrup to mix with fizzy water!

And about these neat little bottles! Awhile ago I was trawling through Tiny’s Green Shed, which is essentially a gigantic warehouse full of second-hand goodies for cheap, when I found them. I like browsing there when I have a few dollars to spare, especially since Tiny’s supports numerous charities and you can get things there for two or three times cheaper than any other secondhand place I know. So it’s well worth investigating. And on one occasion I found two of these cute little soda bottles, complete with caps with proper rubber seals inside. I bought them, at fifty-cents for the two of them I wasn’t going to pass them up. But at the time I thought I might never get more of them. It turns out I was wrong. At the white elephant stall at my old high school’s fete I found three more of these bottles in perfect condition! It just goes to show that when you’re not looking, for them, some amazing things can come your way!

Adapted from Sophia Young’s

Raspberry Fizz

Makes: Almost 700ml syrup, Prep: 20-25 mins, Cook: 15-20 mins

Ingredients

  • 300g frozen raspberries
  • 2 cups caster sugar
  • 1 to 1.5 tbsp lemon juice, or to taste
  • 2 cups water
  • 1L soda water, chilled (for mixing)

Method

  1. Put the raspberries, sugar and the 2 cups of water into a saucepan. Bring it to the boil, then reduce the heat and simmer for 10 minutes, stirring gently.
  2. Once the 10 mins is up, remove the pan from the heat and stir in the lemon juice.
  3. Cool the mixture using an ice-bath, then strain it through a fine sieve into a jug or bowl, but do not press on the solids.
  4. Discard the solids, and either chill the syrup, or mix it with the soda water to create the raspberry fizz.
  5. Enjoy!
6 thoughts on “Raspberry Fizz (g/f, d/f)

  1. Agreed with amazing things can come your way when you least expect it. Similar thing happened to me, with a cup & saucer I fell in love with in one of those old, antique (or junk, depending how you look at it) stores. Months later I found an identical pair! 🙂

    The drink sounds refreshing. Worth a try, definitely! Thanks.
    xoxo, Angie.

    Like

    1. 😀 That sounds like a great find! I’m always having to resist beautiful cup and saucer sets, because we have no room for them at home! But I just keep thinking: “Oh, mousse would look good in that!” or something along those lines. :3 And this is a refreshing drink. :3 It’s really delicious, and not too sweet. :3

      Like

Leave a Reply

