Brownies and Misc. Slices

Choc Honeycomb Slice

IMG_7095

This is a pretty naughty dessert to be making, considering my allergies. So it’s a good thing that no leftovers had to come home with me. But for those of you who can have gluten and dairy, this is a super simple, super delicious, super creamy, and all round super dessert. It came about as a result of the success of my no-churn ice-cream, last time I went to this friend’s house for dinner, which convinced me to try another creamy dessert and see how it would go down. I did, however, accidentally make too much, as I misread the instructions and didn’t realise quite how much slice this would make. So beware! There’s no need to double this recipe unless you’re dealing with a big, big group of people!

It’s a simple dessert as well, requiring no more than four ingredients. It also takes next to no time to put together, as it’s one of those mix, pour and freeze type desserts. I recommend it for summer parties, because it’s a cool finish to a hot evening. The guests at the dinner I went to certainly seemed to enjoy it, and the hosts had fun chowing down on the leftovers over the next week or so. So it turned out not to be such a bad thing that I made too much, as I know some people who are more than willing to eat up any leftovers!

Nestle’s

Choc Honeycomb Slice

Makes: 16, Prep: 20 mins, Chill: Overnight

Ingredients

  • 250g Arnott’s malt-o-milk biscuits (or regular malt-flavoured biscuits)
  • 200g worth of violet crumble bars (or another brand of chocolate bar, with honeycomb on the inside and a chocolate coating on the outside)
  • 600ml thickened cream
  • 395g sweetened condensed milk

Method

  1. Grease and line two 18 x 28cm lamington pans with baking paper. Then line their bases with the biscuits.
  2. Whisk the cream until firm peaks form, then add the condensed milk and whisk again until firm.
  3. Then break up three of the violet crumble bars and fold them into the cream mixture. I did this by leaving the bars in their wrappers and smashing them on all sides with a toffee hammer.
  4. Pour/spoon the cream mixture over the biscuits and smooth gently. Then crush the remaining violet crumble bar and sprinkle one half over one pan, and one half over the other.
  5. Freeze overnight, or until set. Then cut into squares to serve.
22 thoughts on “Choc Honeycomb Slice

  1. I finally made this last night, then managed to hold out until noon before busting the freezer open to try a slice. Yum! I didn’t realize how easy it was to make something that is so similar to ice cream! These taste like cookies and cream, but with the added deliciousness of toffee. Thanks for the idea! And yes, it is a massive amount of food – I made half the recipe here and I still got 24 good-size bars out of it! Not that I’m complaining… 😉

    Like

    1. 😀 I’m so delighted to hear that! 😄 And this is why I love no-churn ice-cream, and ice-cream slice recipes. They’re just so simple and delicious! I’m glad you enjoyed this one! 😀

      Like

  2. I just ordered both things online! I wasn’t able to get Arnott’s, but I found some other malted biscuits. It will take a few weeks for everything to arrive and then I am definitely planning to try out this recipe! 🙂

    Like

    1. 😀 I’m so happy to hear that! 😀 And I hope it wasn’t too expensive for you to get those ingredients! Regular malted biscuits should also work out well I think. 🙂 But please let me know if there are any troubles, or you have any questions, when you are able to give the recipe a go.

      Like

  3. This sounds ridiculously good and insanely sinful. I’ve never heard if the first two ingredients but i will keep my eye out! I think I need to try this!

    Like

    1. Oops! Thank you for pointing this out Fae! :3 I didn’t realise I had written such australian specific ingredients, oops! But I’ll fix that now! :3. Oh! Also, Arnotts is a huge biscuit company, and they produce, among other things, malt-o-milk biscuits. Malto-o-milk biscuits are plain, rectangular biscuits with a gentle malt flavour. Nestle, another big time australian company, are the producers of violet crumble bars. Violet crumble bars are a candy bar, with crumbly honeycomb toffee on the inside and a layer of chocolate on the outside. I hope that’s helped, and I’ll fix up the ingredient list right away. 😀

      Like

    1. 😀 Please do! I’d be interested to see a gluten-free version of this, as I couldn’t figure out what gluten-free biscuit would work best with this recipe. I’m still figuring out what gluten-free supplies there are, and what works. :3

      Like

Leave a Reply

