Gluten-Free · Misc.

Curried Egg Sandwich (g/f)

IMG_6931

And so it begins. My first sandwich post has arrived! It’s hard to believe that this is my first sandwich post because I love sandwiches. But it is! And so, of course, I had to start with a recipe for one of my all-time favourite sandwiches, curried egg sandwiches. I find it hard to go past the deliciousness of the hardboiled egg mixed with the spice and flavour of the curry powder, and I’m not even that big a fan of eggs! Not to mention for some reason the cheese in curried egg sandwiches doesn’t upset my allergies too much. I suspect that this is because cheese has less lactose than some other dairy products, and because two little slices of cheese doesn’t make me exceed my tolerance limit. Regardless of the reasons, I’m glad for it. These sandwiches are divine!

IMG_6923

However, I also have some news. We suspect I might have inherited my father’s gluten intolerance. I’ve been showing some of the same signs as he does when he eats gluten. And given that I have one food allergy, I wouldn’t be surprised at all if I had another. People often tell me that gluten intolerance and lactose intolerance are a common pair of allergies to have. But because of university and life being so hectic we’ve never had a chance to give it much thought. As my last exam EVER is finished, and hopefully I’ve passed and will graduate soon, we decided to focus on getting my health in order. I spoke to a doctor about going gluten-free, and she encouraged me to give it a go – as it might turn out that a gluten intolerance is what causes some of my aches and pains. But we won’t know until I’ve been on the new diet for awhile, so fingers crossed!

Adapted from Keen’s

Curried Egg Sandwich

Makes: 2 sandwiches, Prep: 15-20 mins, Assembly: 5 mins

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • up to 1 tsp of curry powder, or to taste
  • 2 tbsp whole egg mayonnaise
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • A few iceberg lettuce leaves, shredded
  • 2 slices of cheese, for example Gouda, etc.
  • 4 slices of gluten-free white bread (I used country-life gluten-free white bread)
  • OPTIONAL add ins: a handful of chopped chives, a handful of chopped watercress, some slices of cucumber, etc.

Method

  1. After floating the eggs to make sure none are off, pop them in a pot of water and bring that water up to the boil. Once the water is really boiling put on a timer for four minutes and boil those eggs!
  2. Once the four minutes are up, remove the eggs from the water with a slotted spoon and rinse under cold water. Then dry them and start peeling the shells.
  3. NOTE: To peel the eggs it can often be helpful to tap them in one place with the back of a bread and butter knife to make a crack you can get your nail under.
  4. Place the eggs in a bowl and mash them with a fork. Add in the mayonnaise, salt and pepper, then add the curry powder. Stir well to combine.
  5. Get out your bread. Place one slice of cheese on one piece, top with lettuce and the egg mix. Put another slice on top and cut in half. Repeat to make the second sandwich.
  6. Serve!
6 thoughts on “Curried Egg Sandwich (g/f)

  1. Ah, I felt the same way about my first pasta post; I eat pasta so often, and have only posted maybe two recipes on the blog! I only recently discovered how much I love egg salads (the delicious, home-made kind of course), and your curried version sounds fabulous! I love your suggestion of using watercress, it is one of my favorite greens!
    And good luck with the allergies, and figuring out what you are and are not allergic to! I hope this diet helps you figure it out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

