Food With Friends · Gluten-Free · Ice-Cream and Frozen Treats

No-Churn Salted Caramel Swirl Ice-Cream (g/f)

IMG_7000

So, after a bit of a turbulent start to the day I was off and racing. I decided to do a no-churn ice-cream recipe this time around. It’s the better solution for those who don’t have ice-cream makers and don’t have the time to be making the custard mix. This is also more or less the sort of ice-cream my family used to make as a super special treat when I was little, so it was really nostalgic for me.

This recipe uses a ton of double cream, condensed milk, and a little vanilla – and wow! Is it good! The condensed milk seems to help keep the mixture soft, smooth and creamy. It seemed like the perfect treat to take to my dinner party for the night. But because of having done a fruity and creamy dessert last time, I decided to swap up the ingredients and used salted caramel sauce instead of boysenberry sauce – as it prescribes in the original recipe.

IMG_6997

And this is the interesting part. I’m no longer that good with sugary-sweet things, and still I can somehow stand caramel. This salted caramel sauce in particular is de-licious! It was one of the most straightforward recipes I could find for salted caramel sauce, and it would help me use up some of those ingredients mum would like gone before our move. So I gave it a go.

At first I thought I hadn’t done too well. This was more than little dispiriting as this was my first time making salted caramel sauce. but as the sauce cooled it became like I was hoping, thicker and smoother – and so delicious! It turns out the caramel was the perfect match to the no-churn base ice-cream. But what surprised me was that people liked it so much! I left the leftovers with my hosts, and not long after got a message telling me that one of my hosts had shared the ice-cream with some of her friends and they had asked for the recipe! It makes me so happy to know that I could make people something so scrumptious, and something which put smiles on everyone’s faces.

Adapted from A Sweet Muddle’s 

No-churn Boysenberry Swirl Ice-Cream,

And

Nigella Lawson’s

Salted Caramel Sauce

Serves: 6-8, Prep: 30-40 mins, Chill:  6hrs or overnight

Ingredients

  • 600ml double thick cream
  • 395g condensed milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste

Sauce

  • 5 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup caster sugar
  • 3 tbsp golden syrup
  • 1/2 cup double thick cream (the recipe said heavy, so I used double thick)
  • Up to 1 tsp sea salt flakes, or to taste

Method

  1. To make the sauce, melt butter, sugars and syrup in a small heavy based pan and let simmer for 3 minutes, stirring gently.
  2. Then add the cream and the sea salt flakes and give a stir with a wooden spoon. Taste, to see if you want more salt flakes, then cook for another minute on the stove and pour out into a another container.
  3. If making the ice-cream right away, pop the container of sauce into an ice-bath to cool it down enough that it won’t melt the ice-cream mix when it gets poured on. Otherwise leave it to cool on the bench, remembering to stir it every now and again.
  4. To make the ice-cream, pour the cream, condensed milk and vanilla bean paste into a bowl and whisk until soft peaks form.
  5. Tip half of the mixture into an air-tight rectangular container and smooth out gently. Then pour over a layer of the salted caramel sauce and use a skewer to swirl it through. Be gentle with this step as well, as you don’t want to end up mixing the caramel through completely. This is done by sticking the tip of the skewer into the layers and drawing spirals and soft squiggles through the caramel and the ice-cream mix. Then repeat this step with the other half of the ice-cream mixture and more sauce.
  6. Pop on the container lid and freeze for at least 6 hours or overnight. Then, when ready to serve, remove the container from the freezer and let soften for in the fridge for up to 20-30 mins, depending on how fast it softens, until it’s scoop-able.
  7. Serve.

NOTE: I recommend putting this in cones, as it worked so well with the cheap waffle cones I bought at the store.

25 thoughts on “No-Churn Salted Caramel Swirl Ice-Cream (g/f)

Leave a Reply

