Biscuits · Food With Friends

Halloween Biscuits!

IMG_6873

Although it’s a bit early, this might just be the first time I have ever posted a seasonally appropriate recipe up here! It’s exciting! But what was even more exciting was to give my new cookie cutters a whirl on this Halloween biscuits recipe. At first I was planning to do pumpkins, but then I decided to do ghosts instead. The cutter was smaller for the ghosts, meaning more cookies, but it also meant that my mum and I could experiment with making eyes and mouths for these neat little cookies! So naturally I went with the option that would allow me some cooking time with my mum, and we had fun! Especially when we were taste-testing the cookies and the icing. You know – for quality control. Heh-heh-heh.

IMG_6892

It was mum’s idea to use some of her liquorice to make the eyes and the mouth, and she had heaps of fun making different faces for each biscuit. She decided to take over that part, while I iced, and we brainstormed faces together. For example, the middle ghost in the bottom photo is rocking some awesome sunnies. He’s all ready for an Aussie summer. And the white icing stuck well and hardened well over our ghosts. As you can see the faces set in well as well.

And although I did have the usual troubles with the oven burning this and not wanting to cook that, this time nothing seemed to get me down. I was almost humming as I adjusted the cooking times and temperatures for each batch of biscuits until I got it right. I suppose it was because I was baking again for the first time in a long time, and I was getting to bake with my mum – like when I was little. All in all, it was a fun adventure!

 Adapted from Food Recipes’

Halloween Biscuits

Makes: up to 10 large-ish cookies, Prep: 50 mins, Cook: 8-10 mins per batch

Ingredients

  • 200g unsalted butter, softened
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 550g plain flour
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste

Icing

  • 400g icing sugar
  • 3 tbsp water
  • Sticks of black liquorice, chocolate writing pens, etc

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 160C (convection, not fan-forced), and line two trays with baking paper.
  2. Combine the butter and sugar, and beat until pale and creamy and the sugar has dissolved.
  3. Beat in the egg and vanilla, a little at a time, until combined.
  4. Stir the flour in and then knead together to form a dough.
  5. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface and roll out to about 1cm thickness.
  6. Using a Halloween themed cookie cutter, cut out the cookies and place them gently on the trays. Using a thin egg lifter can help keep the cut-outs together while moving them.
  7. Bake the first batch for 8-10 mins, or until golden brown around the edges.
  8. Meanwhile, re-work the dough once or twice more, if possible, and place these cookies on the trays too.
  9. Bake each batch for 8-10 mins, and allow to cool on the trays completely before icing. (Or do them all at once if your oven can handle it)
  10. To make the icing, put the icing sugar into a large mixing bowl and stir in the water until no lumps remain.
  11. Using a knife to spread the icing over the biscuits, decorate using shapes cut out of the liquorice or using the writing pen, and set them aside to harden.
14 thoughts on “Halloween Biscuits!

Leave a Reply

