Beef · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free · Pork

Sticky Pork/Beef Spare Ribs (d/f, and can be made g/f)

IMG_6576

It is true! This is a photo of some sticky beef spare ribs, rather than sticky pork spare ribs. So you might be wondering why I mentioned both meats in my title if I was only going to have one in my photo. But rest assured that there’s a story behind it.

Originally my parents were going to take over dinner, but due to their being out much longer than planned I thought I would see if I couldn’t do something instead. It was a good challenge, as most of the quick and easy recipes I know contain tomato, and I can’t use it when cooking for my dad.

For those of you who are new to my blog, tomato is a no-go ingredient for my poor papa, who has a terrible allergic reaction to it. So I’m always conscious of making meals to suit his allergies when I cook for the whole family. With this in mind I turned from tomato, pasta, and other such things, and ransacked the freezer instead. Much to my delight I found some beef spare ribs! We don’t normally get spare ribs, except for when we order big meat packs from Lost River. So I was interested to see what I could do with them.

I browsed a few of my dad’s cookbooks and wasn’t too impressed. But then I stumbled upon a delicious recipe by Donna Hay for sticky pork spare ribs. I thought it would be no problem to go from pork to beef for this recipe, and I was right. I also adapted the recipe to include the use of gluten-free hoisin and oyster sauce, and adjusted the amounts of ginger and garlic to suit my family’s tastes. But I’ve decided to put the original recipe up here because it is definitely worth a go. The meat becomes so tender from sitting in the juices while it cooks and the flavour of the sauce is amazing! Yum, yum!

Donna Hay’s

Sticky Pork Spare Ribs

Serves: 4, Prep: 15-20 mins, Cook: 2hrs

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup hoisin sauce (can use gluten-free)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup oyster sauce (can use gluten-free)
  • 8 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 tbsp finely grated ginger
  • 1 cup water
  • 16 pork spare ribs (about 2kg)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180ºC (355ºF). Place the hoisin, sugar, oyster sauce, garlic, ginger and water in a bowl and mix to combine.
  2. Place pork in a large baking dish and pour over hoisin mixture. Cover with aluminium foil and cook for 1 hour 15 minutes.
  3. Remove the foil and cook for 25 minutes. Increase the heat to 200ºC (390ºF) and cook for a further 20 minutes.
  4. Set aside and allow to cool.
  5. Divide the pork and sauce into 4.

NOTE: These ribs become soft, tender and delicious! Be ready to fight for them with your hungry family!

12 thoughts on “Sticky Pork/Beef Spare Ribs (d/f, and can be made g/f)

  1. Oh Nell! Those look incredible! I’ve just save this recipe on my desktop and I will be making them this week! I’ve also pinned that photo as they truly do look delectable.

    Like

  2. Beef ribs and short ribs are some of my favourites especially slow cooked. This recipe sounds divine – I have to try it (Love Donna Hay too even if it is just to look at the pictures in her cookbooks!)

    Like

    1. I know exactly what you mean! I love looking through her magazine when i do into a store, the photos are so yummy! And thank you, you should definitely give this a go! Beef spare ribs have become one of my favourites too because of this recipe. :3

      Like

Leave a Reply

