Misc. Desserts

Raspberry Tiramisu (contains no alcohol)

IMG_6855

Once again I went for a no-bake dessert alternative to take to my Friday night dinner get-together. And as you can probably tell, friday is also the day where I have more time to experiment with the photography. It was actually a lot of fun to snap dozens and dozens of photos of this one slice from different angles. Doing that now, like I did with the cheesecake slice, showed me that there really are certain angles which work better for certain shapes and foods. It was a great learning experience! Although I admit to cheating with the raspberries (as seen below), as I ran out of time to get their photo before they had to go into the recipe to make this slice. I did take the photo myself,  but I  used a set-up I found online here.

But in regards to the dessert, I decided on something a little different. I have never actually made a non-coffee based, alcohol-less tiramisu before, let alone a raspberry one that suits even children. But as it turns out raspberry tiramisu is much more common than I thought. I found dozens upon dozens of recipes for fruit-based tiramisus when scouring through the web and cookbooks alike, but this one stood out to me.

IMG_6843(All aspects of this set-up, positioning of berries, angle, etc – came from here. I take no credit for the set-up whatsoever, I just took the above photo.)

For one thing, raspberries are such a delicious fruit. And although I can’t afford fresh ones at the current supermarket prices, I was sure that even frozen ones would work with the cream and mascarpone mixed in and the soft sweetness of the savoiardi biscuits. And boy, did it work! Although remember, if you have dairy or lactose allergies like me, be aware of your limits. One or two mouthfuls is mine, because of the cream and the marscapone cheese in this. But the little I had was delish! And the dinner guests went back for thirds and fourths as well! And much to my delight the bigger size of my dish didn’t seem to have an adverse affect on the assembly, although I could have stood to get another tub of cream and marscapone in there I think. Being creative with the biscuit layers was no problem either, as with a sharp knife these lovely savoiardi biscuits cut up neatly.

Adapted from Giada De Laurentis’

Raspberry Tiramisu

Serves: 8-10, Prep: 30-35 mins, Chill: min 3hrs

Ingredients

  • 1 cup raspberry jam (seeded works fine in this too)
  • up to 7 tbsp orange juice (pulp-free), or orange drink
  • 500g marscapone cheese, at room temp
  • 1 cup thickened cream
  • 1/4 cup sygar
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste
  • 1 400g packet of savoiardi biscuits, (also called lady-finger biscuits)
  • At least 400g of raspberries

Method

  1. Stir the jam and up to 5 tablespoons of the orange juice in a small bowl
  2. Combine the mascarpone and remaining 2 tablespoons of orange juice in a large bowl.
  3. Using an electric mixer, beat the cream, sugar, and vanilla in another large bowl until soft peaks form. Using a large rubber spatula, stir 1/4 of the whipped cream into the mascarpone mixture to lighten. Fold the remaining whipped cream into the mascarpone mixture.
  4. Line the bottom of a 13x9x2 inch dish with biscuits. Spread half of the jam mixture over the ladyfingers. Spread half of the mascarpone mixture over the jam mixture, then cover with half of the fresh raspberries.
  5. Repeat with the remaining savoiardi, jam mixture, mascarpone mixture and raspberries. Cover and refrigerate at least 3 hours or overnight.
  6. Serve
21 thoughts on “Raspberry Tiramisu (contains no alcohol)

  1. I really like the picture of the slice, and how the light from the back bounces off the top, and how you can see the specks from the vanilla bean paste if you look closely. I think you’ve definitely captured the characteristics of this dessert that are most attractive to see when one is about to eat it.

    Like

    1. I really can’t thank you enough for these amazing compliments!!! :3 It is one of the photos I’m the most proud of! especially since I had a lot of fun taking it, and in hunting for the best places in the house to catch that soft white daylight. :3 Thank you again!

      Like

      1. Oh, you’re welcome!! Sometimes I think people don’t understand how you can take 50 shots of the same slice of (insert favorite pie/cake/insert favorite baked good/food) from different angles, only to place one shot of said food on your blog. The process is fun! So thanks!

        Like

  2. This sounds DELICIOUS. Love the idea of adding the orange to the sweet raspberries and creamy mascarpone. I like your photos too… great job! Photography is a continual learning curve, I’m learning every day as part of the blogging adventure. I love it 🙂 xx

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! 😀 The orange flavour really did mix in so well, and it was such a subtle, but delish, compliment to the raspberries and the jam. 😀 And thank you again! I’m on that learning curve now too! :3

      Like

    1. Ahaha! :3 It’s a great recipe in that sense. In the original it used orange liqueur and I swapped it out for orange drink without any trouble. So you could definitely swap back to orange liqueur if you want it boozy. :3

      Like

Leave a Reply

