Beef · Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free

Sausage Pasta

IMG_6532

My head is spinning over my assignments at the moment. Although I did manage to get ahead on some and that has given me some room to breath. But I thought that since I’d been studying for whole day, and since dad wouldn’t be eating dinner, now was the time to take advantage and cook one of my favourite tomato based pastas. Sausage pasta!

I know, I know. Some of you are probably thinking, Nell, sausage pasta is a plain old dish! But with few extra vegetables, some spices like paprika, chilli or even herbs, this dish can really shine. It’s wonderful with spinach, carrot and mushroom, as the spinach mixes in softly, the carrot gives texture, and the mushrooms give it that full-bodied flavour. Not to mention they’re good for your health, and that meant all the people eating it got a vegetable they preferred into the dish. Mum got mushrooms, my brother got spinach, and I got carrot.

There are actually two interesting ways of doing sausage pasta that I know of. One is to chop the sausage up into chunks, which I do like. There’s also the other way, which is to squeeze the meat from the sausage skin so that you get these delicious crumbly mince-meat type bits. In truth, that’s my favourite way. But I thought I’d try the chunks this time, and I was pleasantly surprised by how well they soaked up the flavours from the sauce and the wine.

Sausage Pasta

Adapted from Super Food Ideas Magazine, original recipe by Kirrily La Rosa

Serves: 4, Prep: 15-20 mins , Cook: 30 mins

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 brown onion, diced
  • 2 anchovies in oil, drained, chopped (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 600g of sausages (I used thin beef sausages), chopped into chunks, or squeezed to remove the meat from the skins
  • At least 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 800g diced tomatoes
  • 1 packet pasta
  • 100g sliced mushrooms
  • 1 carrot, grated
  •  One handful of baby spinach
  • 1 heaped tsp dried italian herbs
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Method

  1. Heat oil in a large frying pan over medium heat. Add onion. Cook for 5 minutes or until softened and starting to brown.
  2. Add anchovies, if using, and garlic. Cook, stirring, for 1 minute or until fragrant.
  3. Add sausage meat to pan. Cook, stirring, until browned. Add wine. Bring to the boil. Cook for 2 to 3 minutes or until the liquid has reduced by half.
  4. Add the diced tomato, vegetables and salt and pepper, to the pan. Bring to the boil, stirring, then reduce heat to low. Simmer for 10 to 15 minutes or until slightly thickened, stirring gently throughout.
  5. While the pasta is simmering, I usually prepare the pasta. Then once the pasta and sauce are both done, and seasoned to your liking, combine them and serve.
12 thoughts on “Sausage Pasta

  1. That pasta looks so amazing! I do a sausage pasta as well. just a recipe rustled up at home when i’m looking for a crowd pleaser for an impromptu party. gonna try your technique of squeezing the meat out..

    Like

  2. My husband loves sausage! That’s the one thing he used to miss after we went vegan. I recently discovered Field Roast vegan sausage, however; and it’s delicious! So, I’ll give this a go with vegan sausage. It looks so good!! Celeste 🙂

    Like

  3. Sounds delicious. It’s been ages since I made sausage pasta; I think the poor little sausages get forgotten a bit in this kitchen! You’re entirely right though, when they’re cooked correctly they can really shine. Your picture looks great 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

