Brownies and Misc. Slices · Food With Friends · No-Bake

Passionfruit Cheesecake Slice

IMG_6823

Desserts are pretty much a no-go at my house at the moment, as all of us are doing more to think about our health. But luckily for me I have a semi-regular friday dinner with two other families, and neither of them are fussed if desserts are brought over. In fact – the kids encourage it! So yesterday I gave some thought to the dessert I could do this time, as baking has become too much of a challenge thanks to the fiddling I have to do to use this oven. But it took me no time at all to find and adapt a delicious recipe for a no-bake passionfruit cheesecake slice.

IMG_6763

This recipe requires no baking, and contrary to the instructions it’s not necessary to put the whole lot in one big dish and make it into a slice if you don’t want to. I had some leftovers because I doubled the recipe to account for the bigger size of my dish, and I put them into ramekins and made little cheesecake pots. It still worked out beautifully, and was much easier to store in the fridge. So anyway you want it, that’s just fine. Oh! I also omitted the coconut from the original recipe, as I thought that with my biscuit choice for the base the coconut was unnecessary.

Talk about delight though. That little processor I was able to nab when I helped my friend move turned out to do much better at processing biscuits for the base than anything else we’ve trialled it on so far. In a few short pulses it had turned the biscuits to fine crumbs! I couldn’t believe it! Normally I would have to bag up the biscuits and break out a cup or the meat tenderiser, which is admittedly good for relieving stress. But not this time!

This recipe has also been tweaked through taking feedback from my taste testers, i.e my friends. Everyone got on board giving great feedback and we all had a lot of fun.

IMG_6801

 Adapted from Recipe+’s

Coconut Passionfruit Slice

Makes: up to 18 small squares, Prep: 20-25 mins, Chill: 4hrs

Ingredients

  • 250g arnott’s butternut snap cookies
  • 90g-100g butter, melted
  • 500g cream cheese, at room temp.
  • 1/2 cup caster sugar
  • 300ml thickened cream
  • 3 tsp powdered gelatin
  • 2/3 cup passionfruit pulp
  • ¼ cup boiling water
  • Suggestion From Michelle and Katie: for a more tart filling, you could try adding lemon juice to the cream cheese mix, etc.

Method

  1. Grease and line a 30×20 cm slice pan with baking paper, making sure to leave extra on the long sides for handles.
  2. Either bag up the biscuits and crush them using a cup or a meat tenderiser (my old method), or use a processor to turn them into fine crumbs. Combine with the butter and pressed firmly down over the base of the span. Chill until needed.
  3. Beat cream cheese and sugar in a bowl until smooth. Add the thickened cream and beat until combined.
  4. In a separate bowl, sprinkle the gelatin over the water and stir until completely dissolved. Allow to cool to room temperature, then add to the cream cheese mixture and beat until combined.
  5. Spread spoonfuls of the cheese mixture over the base and smooth. Then drop some spoonfuls of the passionfruit pulp about 2cm apart across the top.
  6. Using a skewer, rather than a knife, swirl the passionfruit pulp around the top of the cheesecake to get that semi-marbled effect.
  7. Chill for 4hrs, or until set.
  8. Cut into pieces to serve.

NOTE: Another option is to swirl the passionfruit pulp through the cheesecake filling very lightly before spooning it out onto the biscuit base and topping with extra pulp.

27 thoughts on “Passionfruit Cheesecake Slice

  1. yum! Cheesecake it an all-time favourite of mine, this one looks amazing too, haha health kicks can be darned depressing sometimes but hey, well-done!
    x han

    Like

  2. Nell, this looks absolutely tempting! It’s been awhile since I last had passion fruits; they’re not readily available here, but nobody can forget the flavor once they taste them. So, I imagine this probably tastes as delicious as it smells. No, correction, not probably, definitely! Yumm!!

    Like

    1. :3 Thanks! I like to buy mine either from the local farmers’ markets. or if I have to I get them from the regular supermarkets when they’re in season. But a friend told me you can buy frozen bags of passionfruit pulp online as well, and it’s apparently not too expensive.

      Like

Leave a Reply

