Custards and Mousses and Pots · Gluten-Free · No-Bake

Mango and Vanilla Coconut Pots

IMG_6708

This turned out to be an absolutely delicious recipe, although I did make changes here and there. It was extremely simple and actually came about through a delicious disaster convincing me I needed a new dessert to take to a friend’s dinner. I turned to my copy of Mighty Spice Express to save the day. And you might be thinking – my gosh! Does she cook from nothing else?! But I chose to turn to this trusty cookbook once more because I knew it had super simple, super quick desserts, which were also relatively easy to shop for as well.

The recipe I picked out was a big hit! Everyone loved the combination of that thick cream, now flavoured with coconut and vanilla, over juicy mangoes with that slight orange tang. Although, of course, you have to be wary of cream when you have lactose allergies like me. Some of the other guests weren’t even that fond of cream and it still went down the hatch. Although I think that was due to the deliciousness of the coconut flavour and vanilla mixed in there. I’m thinking that even regular whipped coconut cream by itself might work, just because the combination of coconut and tropical fruits is amazing.

Before this it had never actually occurred to me to combine regular cream and coconut cream, but oh! – it was smooth and divine! Coconut and mango too, what a fantastic combination of flavours! But the overall consensus from the dinner guests was that this dish is definitely better when there is more fruit than there is cream. Although cream lovers might disagree, I agreed with them, because to me the cream was the perfect garnish – not the sole focus of the dish.

Better still this recipe was so simple for me to do, and even simpler when I had some very helpful people doing the juicing and the dicing while I was doing the whipping. This dessert has a very fresh, summery feel to it because of the mango and the sweet coconut, and I’ll definitely be making it again, that’s for sure! It’s great for whipping up at the very last minute, and it’s still delicious and good-looking enough to impress!

 Adapted from Mighty Spice Express, by John Gregory-Smith

Mango and Vanilla Coconut Pots

Serves: 4, Prep: 10-15 mins

 Ingredients

  • 4 ripe mangoes, peeled and diced
  • Juice of one orange, or to taste
  • 300ml double thick cream
  • 3 tsp. icing sugar, or to taste
  • ¼ cup coconut cream
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • Optional: Feel free to peel and dice and throw in other tropical fruits.

Method

  1. Prepare the mangoes, and any other fruits you’re choosing to use. Place them in a bowl, mix with the orange juice, and then divide amongst four small serving bowls.
  2. Combine the cream, icing sugar, vanilla and coconut cream. Gently whip until soft peaks form. Dollop cream on the top of the fruit and serve.
21 thoughts on “Mango and Vanilla Coconut Pots

  1. Oh Wow! Mangoes and coconut – it’ doesn’t get any better – unless you add a hint of orange and vanilla! This flavour combinations sounds incredible! And thanks for the tip on combining cream and coconut cream.

    Like

Leave a Reply

