Dairy-Free · Gluten-Free · Ice-Cream and Frozen Treats

Cookies and Cream Ice-Cream (g/f, d/f)

IMG_6592

The weather is warm! It’s hard to believe the change happened so suddenly. I haven’t really mentioned it here, but we essentially went from bitterly cold days, to sunshine, blossoms, and good hot temperatures. It comes and goes a little, but this is pretty odd for where I live. It’s normally not this warm so soon, and to be honest winter was a lot more mild than it has been. Some winters I was so cold I couldn’t feel my face the moment I stepped out. And what was worse was that I was normally at school when it was icy cold like this, and that meant uniforms that did next to nothing to protect you from the wind, and a war to convince the school to let us wear overcoats. So considering it’s such beautiful weather, there’s no doubt that this could only mean one thing – Dairy Free Ice-Cream! I’ve been browsing the web and looking through cookbooks to get some idea of what flavours I want to try, but time is always of the essence. I discovered this delicious recipe for dairy-free cookies and cream ice-cream, but the problem for me was in finding dairy-free, gluten-free oreo-type biscuit alternatives. I gave up, in the end, because I don’t normally make cookies and cream with those sorts of biscuits anyway. It was super simple to put the batter together ahead of time, while waiting for the opportunity go out on a biscuit hunt, and I recommend doing this too.

Chill your coconut milk where you can as well. This saves on the extra time waiting for the coconut milk to chill after you mix everything together. I also used half as much sugar as the original recipe recommended, and substituted cane sugar for regular sugar as I didn’t want to go out and buy cane sugar specifically. I was given permission to get the biscuits and do the ice-cream, but the idea at the moment is to run our pantry down rather than buying things that won’t get used up right away. We’ll be moving again in November or October, right during my exam period! Not yay at all! So Mum would like me to run down my baking goods, as I’m the only one that uses them, and our new pantry will be half the size of our current one! I shudder at the thought. But in the end the house is mum and dad’s, and I’m just super appreciative of being able to stay with them while I slog through university. This is my last semester, and after that I want to get out into the world and start earning. Then I can have my pantry as stocked as I please. Although I will miss living with my family…

Adapted from sara Bakes’

Cookies and Cream Ice-Cream (g/f, d/f)

Makes: Less than 1 quart Prep: 5-10 mins, Chill: 2hrs min

Ingredients

  • 800ml full-fat coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar (or less, to taste)
  • 1 tsp vanilla bean paste
  • 1/4 tsp xantham gum
  • Up to 10 dairy-free, gluten-free chocolate biscuits (For example, Orgran’s chocolate biscotti or Naturally Good’s Chocolate Crunch Bakehouse Cookies)

Method

  1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl, except the biscuits, and mix throughly until the sugar has dissolved. Cover, and refrigerate for at least 2hrs, or until quite cold.
  2. Break the biscuits up into small pieces, then either pit the ice-cream mix into your mixer to churn, adding the biscuits according to the manufacturer’s instructions, or use ice-block moulds. If using ice-block moulds, you might want to mix the cookies through the chilled batter, then spoon them in, rather than doing batter then cookies, batter than cookies, etc.
  3. As usual, if serving homemade ice-cream straight from the freezer, give it up to fifteen or twenty minutes to melt a little first. Homemade ice-cream often ends up freezing quite hard, so be patient with it.
10 thoughts on “Cookies and Cream Ice-Cream (g/f, d/f)

Leave a Reply

